How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Nora Your Own Question

Nora
Nora, Expert in Fine & Decorative Arts: Renaissance through Contemporary
Category: Antiques
Satisfied Customers: 11416
Experience:  Liberal Arts BA College Degree, Post-Graduate Christie's Education in London, 10 Yrs Art World Experience in NYC, President & Founder own Corporation. Member AOA & ISA, USPAP Compliant through 2017
71377891
Type Your Antiques Question Here...
Nora is online now

I wonder if you could give me your kind opinion on this

Resolved Question:

Hi,
I wonder if you could give me your kind opinion on this figurine of a lady holding a letter. She is heavy and great quality and in superb condition and stands an impressive 10 1/4 inches tall. There is a makers mark but I cannot make it out. Many thanks, Sue
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Antiques
Expert:  Nora replied 11 months ago.

Hello,

This is a Meissen-type porcelain figural, however the image of the maker mark you mention is not showing here on my end. Please send a photo of the mark at your convenience and the approximate height of this as well.

Thanks!

Nora

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi Nora,
Sorry about that. These are the best images I can get - mark is in blue. Hope you are able to enlarge the pics. She is 10 1/4 inches tall. Best wishes Sue
Expert:  Nora replied 11 months ago.

Hi,

Thank you for the image. To clarify, she is hollow and there is a brass tone metal ring along the bottom?

~Nora

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi Nora,
Yes that is true in both cases
Expert:  Nora replied 11 months ago.

Thank you for the additional information

Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Hi Nora,
There is no rush but was wondering if you have managed to track this lady down?
Best wishes, Sue
Expert:  Nora replied 11 months ago.

Hi Sue,

My apologies for the delay, as I have not made a match to this piece. The 'mark' appears to just be a firing flaw and not an actual maker stamp.

This is done in the manner of 18th century German Meissen and English Chelsea Bow wares, however her hairstyle is from later in the 19th century and the surface application and the ringed opening on the underside are 20th century. This was possibly a 'stash away' container, to hold valuables and it appears there may have been a cover that could slide over the hole on the underside. In terms of value, it could garner several hundred, however you can ask any price you please on any item you own, the key factor being finding a buyer at your pricepoint.

Please take a moment to leave a rating by clicking the stars. If you require further assistance, no worries, the question thread does not close even after leaving a rating.

~Nora

Nora, Expert in Fine & Decorative Arts: Renaissance through Contemporary
Category: Antiques
Satisfied Customers: 11416
Experience: Liberal Arts BA College Degree, Post-Graduate Christie's Education in London, 10 Yrs Art World Experience in NYC, President & Founder own Corporation. Member AOA & ISA, USPAP Compliant through 2017
Nora and 2 other Antiques Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
< Previous | Next >
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I Couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Kim D.

    Kim D.

    Antiques Expert & Certified Appraiser

    Satisfied Customers:

    3807
    25 Yr Decorative & Fine Art, Historic Object Expert, CAGA, AOA, Certified Appraiser
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BL/blueflowers1063/2013-10-10_35834_KimHolidays1.64x64.jpg Kim D.'s Avatar

    Kim D.

    Antiques Expert & Certified Appraiser

    Satisfied Customers:

    3807
    25 Yr Decorative & Fine Art, Historic Object Expert, CAGA, AOA, Certified Appraiser
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CA/CAssoc/2013-8-21_181945_randi.64x64.jpg C&A Appraisals (Randi)'s Avatar

    C&A Appraisals (Randi)

    Antiques and Collectibles Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    1240
    ISA Certified fully accredited USPAP. 30+years experience. Speaker, TV, Radio, Newspaper Featured.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AntiquesExpert/2010-11-25_183723_img_6068.jpg AntiquesExpert's Avatar

    AntiquesExpert

    Accredited Appraiser

    Satisfied Customers:

    74
    Accredited Member of ISA; passed USPAP; full time appraiser; collector for 20+ years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DF/dfm/2015-12-30_64643_.64x64.jpg Doris - dfm925's Avatar

    Doris - dfm925

    Pres, Owner, Appraisals Corproration

    Satisfied Customers:

    2788
    Antiques store owner 10+yrs.Best of City Two Years.Collector 56+yrs.USPAP compliant. Member AOA.Founded part of antiques, silver & art collection at local museum.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MS/MsDaisy/mom.64x64.jpg Glenda B. Appraiser's Avatar

    Glenda B. Appraiser

    Antiques Appraiser

    Satisfied Customers:

    8168
    40+ yrs. experience buying and selling antiques as a collector and 14+ yrs. as antique store owner. Member of Association of Online Appraisers and AADA.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TW/twinb1201/2013-3-15_15340_judipearl.64x64.jpg Judith-on-Antiques's Avatar

    Judith-on-Antiques

    Antiques and Collectibles Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    3352
    A noted expert, author, TV personality, appraiser and columnist. President of the Association of Online Appraiser
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MT/MTantiques/2012-6-19_125955_Frankjustanswerphoto.64x64.jpg Frank's Avatar

    Frank

    Antiques and Collectibles Researcher

    Satisfied Customers:

    1654
    Expert in gold, silver, jewelry and American antiquities.
 
 
 

Related Antiques Questions