How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Mike Your Own Question

Mike, Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience:  Tech Expert
Type Your Car Question Here...
Mike is online now

I have an R8. It is 7 years old but has only done 35500 miles.

Customer Question

I have an R8. It is 7 years old but has only done 35500 miles. I have cared for it as you would expect having paid so much. Recently it has had several problems which i would not have expected-certainly not parts subject to wear and tear:
fuel tank sensor needed replacing last year
now oil pipes corroded and needed replacing (Audi are paying for that-it is a common problem apparently)
oil sensor failed
driver seat lumbar support needs replacing (I am 12 stone)
Someone has suggested that i might be covered by European Sale of Goods Act-what do you think?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Car
Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
Hello and Welcome -
My name is ***** ***** Im happy to help / advise ..
Im sorry to hear of your issues with your R8.. I sympathise and agree with you that you would not expect such issues.. but Im afraid we do hear of them arising as you have had. The question is now the best way forward.
You have done the right thing in contacting Audi UK.. Im a little surprised to hear that they treated you so badly - in our experience, they are usually very helpful. In view of this , I would re contact them - directing your communique to someone other... and see how you get on there. Sometimes it can be the individual that is, shall we say, due a career change! So it is worth trying that - Im sure you will get more success..
Too - it would be worth asking at another dealer.. you dont have to stick with one.. and often, if another dealer sees you . they are usually keen to gain you as a customer and help you all the way - I would suggest that as a way forward also..
As to the Euro Sales of Goods Act.. I honestly can't direct you on that - you would perhaps need legal advice on that - something Im not allowed to give - but what I can say is, IF you do not get satisfactory progress doing as I have suggested above - then contact your local TSO - Trading Standards Office.. they are always very helpful and will help you with this - Garages do not like them involved... so you get the idea!
Let me know how you go..and / or let me know if you need anything further on this..
-- Please do do the rating for me at this time.. Thank you in advance for that ... Note that you can get back to me anytime at all after doing the rating - it doesn't close you out --
Best Rgds, MIKE.

What Customers are Saying:

  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
< Previous | Next >
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, do indeed know your stuff. Jim
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex

Meet The Experts:

  • Greg



    Satisfied Customers:

    Automotive diagnostic tech
< Last | Next >
  • Greg's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    Automotive diagnostic tech
  • Matt's Avatar


    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
  • Ross's Avatar


    Diagnostic and repair technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Licensed diagnostic and repair technician
  • Rob's Avatar


    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    30 years trade experience
  • uk_iaibal's Avatar


    UK Car Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    Verified Car Mechanic.
  • Billy's Avatar


    Trainer/ Master Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Trainer 8+ years, master tech. 10+ years, SAE member
  • Mike Kelly's Avatar

    Mike Kelly

    Auto Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    17 years experience as an auto mechanic, foreign and domestic. 5 years running my own repair business.