How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Mike Your Own Question

Mike, Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience:  Tech Expert
Type Your Car Question Here...
Mike is online now

I have just picked up a used mini cooper sd convertible and driving back the low tyre

Resolved Question:

I have just picked up a used mini cooper sd convertible and driving back the low tyre pressure warning came on. Ive never had run flat tyres before. Does this mean there is a flat? Also, I wont be able to get to a garage til tomorrow so how far can I drive with them like that?
Also tried to put roof down and it goes as far as the sunroof section then stops and says luggage compartment empty... what does this mean?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Car
Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
Hello and Welcome..
My name is ***** ***** happy to help / advise..
No it doesn't neccesrily mean there is a flat or a puncture.. of course it could be... you need to visually look at the tyre - but so long as the tyre is not dead flat then yes you can drive it.
Sometimes when a car has been stood a while - after driving off , the tyre pressures can adjust and if it goes below circa 3-5 psi of the recommended setting, pressure, it will trigger the light. Adding pressure to the tyres will often just reset it..
If the tyre has gone completely flat, it will need re blowing up or changing before you drive.
Re the roof issue you have, the usual issue is the back shelf/ panel - it has to be fully down - there are ywo latches that latch when its on the right position - if its not, you will get what you have so check on that.
IF thats not it, the garage will have to check that for you - it can be any one of several other issues - they may need to plug diagnostic equipment in -
There is a reasonably good video on you tube re roof operation - for that, copy and paste this link into your browser, that may help you through it :
Let me know how you go..and / or let me know if you need anything further on this..
~>>~~>>~ Meanwhile now - Please do click on the "Exc / Ok rating" for me at this time.. "Thank you" in advance for that .
.. Note that you can get back to me anytime at all after doing the rating - it doesn't close you out --
Best Rgds, MIKE
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hi, My partner has just taken it to garage and three of the tyres were reading 40psi and he couldn't get a reading off one to start with. He has deflated to the pressure on the three tyres to 27psi which is what is on the label on the door panel. He eventually got a reading off the one and that was low so he inflated it to 27. Is that the correct pressure fir these tyres? The warning is still on but I haven't initialised it yet but will do that if 27 is the correct pressure? Thank you oh I managed to get the roof sorted ok. I did find a manual in the bot so that has helped somewhat

Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
Hello again - Thank you for your reply and further info.
Expert:  Mike replied 1 year ago.
The correct tyre pressure is going to depend on which size tyres you have fitted - there were several options re size on these - so I will give you a chart - specific to the MINI you have.... select the tyre size - go across and you will see your tyre pressure you need.27 is not right by the way its way to low... but you will see the right one there in the chart.. I have put it on here as an attachment for you - If we are done, please I do need you to click on the OK / Exc ratings for me at this point - Thank you again... and you are welcome back anytime at all ..Kind Rgds, MIKE.
Mike, Technician
Category: Car
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience: Tech Expert
Mike and other Car Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
< Previous | Next >
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, do indeed know your stuff. Jim
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex

Meet The Experts:

  • Greg



    Satisfied Customers:

    Automotive diagnostic tech
< Last | Next >
  • Greg's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    Automotive diagnostic tech
  • Matt's Avatar


    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
  • Ross's Avatar


    Diagnostic and repair technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Licensed diagnostic and repair technician
  • Rob's Avatar


    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    30 years trade experience
  • uk_iaibal's Avatar


    UK Car Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    Verified Car Mechanic.
  • Billy's Avatar


    Trainer/ Master Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Trainer 8+ years, master tech. 10+ years, SAE member
  • Mike Kelly's Avatar

    Mike Kelly

    Auto Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    17 years experience as an auto mechanic, foreign and domestic. 5 years running my own repair business.