If you go into your photo album and look at the "Photos of you" tab. These are the photos that you have been tagged in by other people.
If you click the eraser on the top right corner of any photos in question, you can choose to untag yourself or report the photo to Facebook. This will then remove the photo from your timeline.
This won't delete the photo from their Facebook page if they took it. It will only remove the tag of you. You can then report the photo to Facebook if you have a good reason why it should be removed.
Going forward, in your privacy settings you can select "Timeline and Tagging" from the left hand side and choose not to let tagged photos be automatically added to your timeline; rather you have to approve any tagged photos first. You can get to your privacy settings by clicking the down arrow on the top right corner of your Facebook page and left clicking the "settings" option.