How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask dermdoc19 Your Own Question

dermdoc19
dermdoc19, Dermatologist
Category: Dermatology
Satisfied Customers: 2779
Experience:  30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
50983945
Type Your Dermatology Question Here...
dermdoc19 is online now

Hi, I am seeking some dermatology opinions/information please.

Customer Question

Hi, I am seeking some dermatology opinions/information please. I would like to know how certain biological processes related to my skin are working.

To explain, my acne started ever after I drank wine for the first time in 2002. I drank too much but immediately after that I developed acne for the first time. I then noticed that foods in my diet – adding water, removing milk and recently discovered fermented foods is a major problem (with chemical yeasts like bread, beer). I see that wine is a fermented product.

I started taking various antibiotics (doxycycline and minocycline and possibly lymecycline) but it always returned. I think the acne became more complex at one point since I would also get a certain kind of acne around menstruation. I maybe spent about 2-3 years on antibiotics between 2005 – 2011. I once had been taking doxycycline for a while but got a worse outbreak so took flucoxicillin, which was effective. The acne has always come back after again though.

I travelled in 2011 and had been taking doxycycline for malaria (and skin) for a while. I took about 6 month’s supply over about a year. However I stopped taking it about two years ago.

I began doxycycline again in November 2014 although I started taking it intermittently. I have been a vegetarian for about ten years although due to the food results I’ve been noticing I recently decided to change my whole diet. I more or less stopped all problematic foods (wheat, soya). I had changed my diet for about a month so expected my skin would not have any more reactions from food. However one night (about a month ago) it was very hot and the next day my skin had completely broken out. It has never been even close to this bad since the acne first began.

I started taking clindamycin HCL 150 mg twice a day (for some weeks), which led to an improvement.

I am concerned now however that when I stop taking the clindamycin I may have an even worse reaction because of the mechanisms of the antibiotics and seeming resistance.

My questions are:

1) Do you know why the acne got worse recently? How this antibiotic process might have worked?
2) How it should be treated?/how antibiotic processes can be restored?
3) Do you know how the fermented foods are causing acne? My acne has got worse after eating fermented products on a number of occasions and I’ve observed this over about 10 years.
4) And perhaps any alternative/herbal/medical/suggested remedies (for the antibiotic/fermented foods process) you may have heard of?

With thanks,


Lucy
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Dermatology
Expert:  Shantal-Mod replied 2 years ago.
Hello Lucy,

I'm Shantal and I'm a moderator for this topic.

We have been working with the Experts to try to help you with your question. Sometimes it may take a bit of time to find the right fit.

I was checking to see if you had already found your answer or if you still need assistance from one of the Experts.

Please let me know if you wish to continue waiting or if you would like for us to close your question?

Thank you,

Shantal
Expert:  Dr. Thomas, MD replied 2 years ago.
Hello
1. No acne is complex
You are on the wrong antibiotic
Who prescribed this?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • dermdoc19

    dermdoc19

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2779
    30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dermdoc19/2010-09-30_160749_Photo_122807_015.JPG dermdoc19's Avatar

    dermdoc19

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2779
    30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/tcsatish/2009-4-14_221547_satish_pp.jpg Dr. Skinner's Avatar

    Dr. Skinner

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1548
    MD , DNB ( D &V), FAAD
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    274
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology