How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. David Your Own Question

Dr. David
Dr. David, Board Certified MD
Category: Dermatology
Satisfied Customers: 42869
Experience:  Board Certified Physician
41363181
Type Your Dermatology Question Here...
Dr. David is online now

Good eveningI would like your expert opinion or advice

Customer Question

Good evening
I would like your expert opinion or advice on how to deal with a dry and hard skin on my face.
Four years ago, I mistakenly used a shampoo (head and shoulders-anti dandruff shampoo) as a lotion and applied it on my face. I had it there for the whole day until I had a bath. I basically used it as a regular lotion for about 4 days. I eventually started to feel some burns on my face and later found out that my skin has been irrated. I did use to itch initially but that has stopped.
My main issue is that since then, it has been noticed that some parts of my face are harder in texture than the rest and it also gets very dry.
Do you know of any solutions? Any lotions or cream I can apply to deal with it?
Daniel
Submitted: 12 months ago.
Category: Dermatology
Expert:  Dr. David replied 12 months ago.
This is Dr. David
it is doubtful that head and shoulders shampoo applied to your face 4 years ago would be causing parts of your face being harder in texture than others.
as we all get older, we can have parts of our face showing signs of aging.
creams like Mederma can reduce scar tissue and hardness on the face.
if the skin gets very dry, you need to be using lotion more often on your face.
after you wash your face with soap, you need to apply lotion every time.
soap can dry your skin.
thicker moisturizers like Goldbond or Aquafore or Eucerin or Lubriderm could help keep your skin moist and softer
let me know if you have questions.
Customer: replied 12 months ago.
Thank you. Well ever since o used that shampoo, my face has been hard and dry. I'm currently on a number of medications though, but I started taking those medications years after the shampoo incident.The lotions you have mentioned are not ones I'm familiar with in uk pharmacies.Do you know of any alternative that I can easily find at UK retailers?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 12 months ago.
they sell all of those creams at drug stores at your UK pharmacies.
they have Mederma creams to decrease scar tissue
they have aquafore thick moisturizer for moisturizing
they have Lanolin ointment as a thick moisturizer
you can bring these ointment names to your pharmacy and chemist and ask them
I'm sure they can find some creams which are similar and local for you
let me know if you have other questions.
if done for now, please leave positive rating above the chat box so I can get credit for helping you today
we only get credit for helping clients after positive feedback
you can always reach me with "a question for Dr. David" in the medicine or oncology categories if you have any other questions
here is my website if you need to reach me again:
http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-dr-david/
Thanks for using JustAnswers.com
Customer: replied 12 months ago.
Fantastic. Amazed by your knowledge.Finally, for over 10 years I have suffered some itching around my genital area. The area feels good when itching it and often I get sore after some time. I have tried some eszema creams but I still get tempted to touch the area when it's itches even when I'm applying creams on it, it's so irresistible.It's just around the scrotum and some parts of the penis. Do you have any ideas on how to deal with it; any lotions or creams that would sort it out?And if I may ask too, do you know of any skin brightening creams? I'm really dark and would want something that would make me a bit brighter. Any ideas?
Expert:  Dr. David replied 12 months ago.
the most common cause of itching is from excessive moisture causing a fungal infection in the groin area.
if the area is moist, you should keep the area dry with powder, like talc powder or corn starch based powder
you can also try over the counter antifungal creams, like clotrimazole
skin lightening can be difficult to do. avoid sun exposure is best.
there are over the counter skin brightening creams with bleach you can try
they can be at the pharmacy as well

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • dermdoc19

    dermdoc19

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2779
    30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/dermdoc19/2010-09-30_160749_Photo_122807_015.JPG dermdoc19's Avatar

    dermdoc19

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    2779
    30 years practice in general and cosmetic dermatology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/tcsatish/2009-4-14_221547_satish_pp.jpg Dr. Skinner's Avatar

    Dr. Skinner

    Dermatologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1548
    MD , DNB ( D &V), FAAD
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    274
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology