It resets the unit and settings back to the way they were originally.
A master reset will erase all favorites1
and will restore your device to the default factory settings. If you would like to back up your favorites to your computer, you can find instructions to do so here.
Start with the device OFF and unplugged from power
To verify the device is powered off and not in standby mode, press and hold down the power button until prompted to turn off the device
Press and hold the lower right hand corner of the display portion of the touchscreen
Power on the device while continuing to hold the display
Remove your finger from the touchscreen when "Erase all user data?" appears
If this did not work, please come back and let me know what happened when you tried it by clicking on reply to expert so we can continue.
If it did work, please don’t forget to leave a positive rating - it is greatly appreciated.