How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask taratill Your Own Question

taratill
taratill, Solicitor
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 6307
Experience:  15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
32019188
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
taratill is online now

We have sent an individual home due to receiving a complaint

Resolved Question:

We have sent an individual home due to receiving a complaint about unprofessional conduct and intimidating behaviour, whilst we look into the matter further. At this point we are inviting the individual to an investigatory meeting to discuss the complaint but since speaking to others I have been advised of other examples of the above (shouting at staff, not speaking to staff, making them feel like they don't want to come to work as they don't know what they will walk into each day). I have wrote out inviting the individual to an investigatory meeting to discuss the complaint and for them to be able to defend their behaviour. This is the first official complaint we have received but we are aware of times this has happened before and have in an unofficial capacity spoken to the supervisor and they agreed it was a problem and for a period of over 6 months the atmosphere in the office was better but it has started again. Would it be ok at the meeting, as well as discuss the complaint which the supervisor is now aware of, to discuss and show evidence of statements from other members of staff that have been given to me this week. The person who made the original complaint is just out of school and new to the working environment although I didn't want to name the individual who had raised the complaint until the meeting I feel I have a duty to the supervisor to inform her so that she is fully aware before attending the meeting but I don't wish to send the other statements but present and discuss them during the course of the meeting. This meeting is still investigatory and no disciplinary action will be taken until the matter is fully explored and meeting has been concluded. A separate meeting will take place if it is proved that disciplinary action is warranted.
So really I just need to know if it would be wrong to only present the supporting statements at the meeting and not before ?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I am happy to help you today. How long has the employee worked for you for?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

The apprentice has been with us for just under 8 months (individual who made the complaint). The supervisor has been with us for 26 years in various different roles.

Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
It is fine to present the statements you have suggested. As this person has been with you for a long period of time and it is the first official complaint I would consider offering extra training as an option as an alternative to disciplinary action if there is some merit to the allegations.
If you have any further questions please do ask. If I have answered your question I would be grateful if you would take the time to rate my answer. Thank you and all the best.
taratill, Solicitor
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 6307
Experience: 15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
taratill and 2 other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11030
    Qualified Employment Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11030
    Qualified Employment Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    41
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Laywer

    Satisfied Customers:

    49
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/taratill/2010-03-09_111600_phpsik04M_c2AM.jpg taratill's Avatar

    taratill

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    672
    15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg chatham-chamber's Avatar

    chatham-chamber

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    24
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/li/2014-12-19_134845_lexughes.64x64.jpg Alice H's Avatar

    Alice H

    Solicitor Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    99
    Partner in national law firm with 20+ years legal experience
  • /img/opt/shirt.png tdlawyer's Avatar

    tdlawyer

    Laywer

    Satisfied Customers:

    53
    Lawyer with 9 years experience in employment related issues.
 
 
 

Related Employment Law Questions