How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask taratill Your Own Question

taratill
taratill, Solicitor
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 6305
Experience:  15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
32019188
Type Your Employment Law Question Here...
taratill is online now

I have scored badly in a performance review a year ago. My

Resolved Question:

I have scored badly in a performance review a year ago. My boss has constantly been negative since. I have driven good business and client satisfaction is high. My manager today told me I was not suited to my role, I have been in my current role for 3 years and the company for 9. I am being managed out of the business and I do not know how to respond. Nothing is in writing and there is no concrete feedback or action plan for me. what should i do.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Employment Law
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I am happy to help you today. Have you been subject to disciplinary or capability proceedings as a result of this? Have you complained about this at all to your boss?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
hello i haven't had proceedings no. in my regular 1:1 I have said she is being unfair. She responded with I am not suitable for the role. I do not know how to respond as I have been there 9 years and I am good at my job.
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
Is there a HR department where you work?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
yes there is. I spoke to the person in HR about 9 months ago to say that I was so surprised by the bad score as I had been told I was on promotion track. HR have changed and the person is not knowledgeable of the history. How far can I push back on this behviour?
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
If there is an ongoing problem then there will not be a time limit. The legal position is that an employer cannot take action against you on the grounds of performance or capability without setting out the reasons they consider you are not meeting the requirements of the role and without setting realistic and achievable targets. You should also be offered training. It sounds as though you manager has not dealt with this properly. The best course of action is to therefore raise a grievance about this to say that you consider it is a breach of trust and confidence that you are being told you are not suitable for your role without being given clear indications of where you are failing and what you need to do to improve. The employer cannot take action against you for raising the grievance and this also should shed some light on what the situation is with regards ***** ***** you are in fact meeting the role requirements. Is there anything further you would like to know?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
thank you. the grievance should be done via HR department or my manager?
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
You should follow your own companies grievance procedure, normally HR will be involved but it depends on the procedure at your work. If you do not know then you need to ask for a copy of the procedure. If you have any further questions please ask. If I have answered your question I would be grateful if you would take the time to rate my answer. Thank you and all the best.
Expert:  taratill replied 1 year ago.
Hello is there anything further you would like to know as I can see you have not yet rated my answer. I would be extremely grateful if you would do so before leaving the site as I am not otherwise paid for answering your question. Many thanks and all the best.
taratill, Solicitor
Category: Employment Law
Satisfied Customers: 6305
Experience: 15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
taratill and other Employment Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Ben Jones

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10492
    Qualified Employment Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    10492
    Qualified Employment Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    41
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Laywer

    Satisfied Customers:

    49
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/taratill/2010-03-09_111600_phpsik04M_c2AM.jpg taratill's Avatar

    taratill

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    671
    15 years experience of advising on employment law matters
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/LI/li/2014-12-19_134845_lexughes.64x64.jpg Alice H's Avatar

    Alice H

    Solicitor Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    99
    Partner in national law firm with 20+ years legal experience
  • /img/opt/shirt.png tdlawyer's Avatar

    tdlawyer

    Laywer

    Satisfied Customers:

    53
    Lawyer with 9 years experience in employment related issues.