How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask DocPhilMD Your Own Question
DocPhilMD
DocPhilMD, Medical Doctor
Category: Endocrinology
Satisfied Customers: 56224
Experience:  Endocrinology Expert
55099014
Type Your Endocrinology Question Here...
DocPhilMD is online now

Please help me. I need a second opinion. I've been on pred

Resolved Question:

Please help me. I need a second opinion. I've been on pred for 27 years. Results of my short synacthen test were 390 base, 400 30 mins, 410 60 mins. I was very stressed as an hour late. Are these results totally normal
And us it safe for me to just stop taking the hydrocortisone they switched me to?
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Endocrinology
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I'd had two other base readings (cortisol) at different times, one was 50 something, the other 100 and something, but she said that was just the pred. I take 3mg per day and have felt terrible ever since they tried to wean me from 5mg. I have all the symptoms of adrenal insufficiency and felt v much better on the hydrocortisone
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I'm worried I've had no answer in 4 hours.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Now it's 22 hours, are you not going to reply? Is this a scam site?
Expert:  Shantal-Mod replied 1 year ago.
Hello,
I'm Shantal and I'm a moderator for this topic.
I've been working hard to find a Professional to assist you with your question, but sometimes finding the right Professional can take a little longer than expected.
I was checking to see if you had already found your answer or if you still need assistance from one of the Professionals.
Please let me know if you wish to continue waiting or if you would like for us to close your question?
Thank you,
Shantal
Expert:  DocPhilMD replied 1 year ago.

No, it is not safe to just stop

have they tried weaning you off?

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
but anything below 5mg made me feel ill. That's been the case for about 18 months, I didn't dare reduce them further.
Expert:  DocPhilMD replied 1 year ago.

I really don't think you will be able to get off.

After 27 years it is highly unlikely

does your doctor think differently?

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Told me I was perfectly fine, could just stop taking. No medical reason to continue, wouldn't do any further tests etc.
Expert:  DocPhilMD replied 1 year ago.

I highly doubt this

after 27 years the body loses its ability to make its own steroid

let me know if you have other questions.

if done for now, please leave a positive rating above the chat box so I can get credit for helping you today

we only get credit for helping clients after positive feedback

you can always reach me with "a question for Dr. Phil" in the medicine, cardiology or pharmacy categories if you have any other questions

here is my website if you need to reach me again:

http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-irondoc/

Thanks for using justanswer.com

DocPhilMD, Medical Doctor
Category: Endocrinology
Satisfied Customers: 56224
Experience: Endocrinology Expert
DocPhilMD and other Endocrinology Specialists are ready to help you