How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Clare Your Own Question

Clare
Clare, Family Solicitor
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 33325
Experience:  I have been a solicitor in High Street Practise since 1985 and have specialised in Family Law for the last 10 years
13262538
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Clare is online now

I would like to raise a formal complaint against the CSA for

Customer Question

I would like to raise a formal complaint against the CSA for the way they have dealt with my case in recent weeks.
I have been paying for my two sons regular maintenance since separating from my ex-wife in January 2010. since then, I have made monthly payment without failure. In January 2012, following a promotion at work, I informed the agency of my changes in circumstances. I did not receive any correspondence from them for over 16 months until completely out of the blue, a case worker rang me on the 25th of June 2013 to inform me that I was nearly £2000 in arrears.

I was asked on that day to agree a repayment schedule. even though I explained that I never seen any written correspondence with a full breakdown of their calculation and the subsequent proposed increase for my monthly payments, I was informed that unless I agreed on that day, they would recover the arrears via a court order. I requested to get the full breakdown in writing explaining where those arrears were coming from.

I never received any further correspondence from the agency until late July when I was informed in writing by my employer that the CSA had requested full repayment for those arrears over a five months period via a court order. When contacted on the day, it became obvious that the Agency had been using an incorrect house number for myself all along. Even though it was evidently a mistake on their part, they never made any apology nor did they reviewed the situation.

I have since then received written correspondence to my correct address with evidences that their initial correspondences were send to the wrong house number. Even the NHS payroll have confirmed that when the court order was presented to them, it came with the incorrect house number. I have never refused to make any payment towards my two children. However in this instance, I feel aggrieved by the way I have been dealt with by a Government Agency. I am a Senior Ambulance officer with a respectable work history and to be treated in such a way is unacceptable.

I have raised complaints to the Agency about this but to no avail and I would like to take this further in an attempt to ensure that such practices and lack of professionalism do not become common practice. any advice as to how this can be raised to get progress would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Yannick Raimbault
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
Thank you for your question.
My name is Clare and I will do my best to help you but I need some further information first.
Have you actually invoked the formal complaints procedure?
Clare
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

No, the formal complaint procedure was never invoked as when I spoke to case worker or search on-line on how to raise a complaint, I haven't been informed nor found guidances as to the process for this.

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
The formal complaints process is set out here
https://www.gov.uk/complain-child-support-agency
and here
http:[email protected][email protected][email protected]/documents/digitalasset/dg_198866.pdf
ALWAYS deal with them in writing and keep a copy - and follow up any phone call they make to you with a letter setting out what they said to you
You can also get assistance from this group
www.nacsa.org.uk
I hope that this is of assistance please ask if you need further details
Clare

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Kasare

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    133
    UK solicitor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    340
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/GL/Glossolicitor/2013-5-14_214834_TWMParkinsonWright.64x64.jpg Glos solicitor's Avatar

    Glos solicitor

    Family Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2
    10 years experience in all areas of family law, now specialising in cases involving social services and children
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKfamsol/My face July 2011.64x64.jpg UKfamsol's Avatar

    UKfamsol

    Family Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    240
    Very experienced specialist family law solicitor, qualifed in 1994
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg chatham-chamber's Avatar

    chatham-chamber

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    182
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)