How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Clare Your Own Question

Clare
Clare, Family Solicitor
Category: Family Law
Satisfied Customers: 33297
Experience:  I have been a solicitor in High Street Practise since 1985 and have specialised in Family Law for the last 10 years
13262538
Type Your Family Law Question Here...
Clare is online now

This may sound petty but i just need your opinion please.

Customer Question

HI, this may sound petty but i just need your opinion please. I.m divorced, of 3 year 5 months. i have my children every Wednesday after school for the night and take them to school Thursday morning, and have them every other weekend from 2pm Saturday until 6pm Sunday evening.
My problem is my ex likes to mess me around at times.Such as moving house and not telling me, not there when i take the children back home etc.When ive asked her to swap weekends on the rare occasion due to an event she will always say no or if yes, will then let me down last minute.
Now, when she wants to do something and wants to change days, she will tell me i must and my children want to see more of me.She has also told me to take a week off next April to have the children so she and her boyfriend can go on holiday. I'm self employed and cant just afford to take a week off when it suites her. I feel constantly bullied by her and made to feel like a bad father. If i give in to her requests, then i get it in the ear from my girlfriend for being a push over.
I'm so confused what the right thing is to do.
Please can you give me some professional advice? I know about mediation but i would like your opinion.Thank you.
Submitted: 2 months ago.
Category: Family Law
Expert:  Clare replied 2 months ago.

Thank you for your question

My name is Clare

I shall do my best to help you but I need some further information first.

How old are the chidlren and do you wish to have extra time with them - if so what pattern would suit you best?

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
Hi, 12 and 9, Yes but i work late and dont get home till 8 most evenings. I used to have them on the Sunday afternoon of not my weekend but she stopped that and take them to school Monday morning but she stopped that too. I'm quite happy the way things are but she wants me to have them when i'm at work or i have plans with my girlfriend. Shes always telling me i dont do enough,I just fell bullied. I'm happy to hear if i'm doing wrong too.
Expert:  Clare replied 2 months ago.

Do you have extra time with them in the school holidays?

Customer: replied 2 months ago.
for a week in August, sometimes all day on the Wednesday in other holidays. I dont take much time off work because im self employed and cant afford to.
Expert:  Clare replied 2 months ago.

You both have Parental responsibility for the children which means that how their time is shared between you is something that must be negotiated - neither parent has more power than the other and if no agreement can be reached then the Court will have to decide the matter

You cannot be force to have the hcildren when you are not able to do so - nor is it reasonable of her to take away time that you have with them unless there is good reason to do so

You should discuss matters with her using Family mediation

www.familymediationcouncil.org.uk.

There is no reason why you should not have the children Sunday night on "your" weekend - and you are being reasonable in pointing out that your work commitments have to be respected.

You may find this website useful

http://theparentconnection.org.uk/

I hope that this is of assistance - please ask if you need further details

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Kasare

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    204
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    133
    UK solicitor
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    340
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/GL/Glossolicitor/2013-5-14_214834_TWMParkinsonWright.64x64.jpg Glos solicitor's Avatar

    Glos solicitor

    Family Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2
    10 years experience in all areas of family law, now specialising in cases involving social services and children
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKfamsol/My face July 2011.64x64.jpg UKfamsol's Avatar

    UKfamsol

    Family Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    240
    Very experienced specialist family law solicitor, qualifed in 1994
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg chatham-chamber's Avatar

    chatham-chamber

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    182
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)