How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Mike Your Own Question

Mike, Ford Technician
Category: Ford
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience:  Tech Expert
Type Your Ford Question Here...
Mike is online now

I had a USB stick with some 450 tracks on which worked perfectly

Resolved Question:

I had a USB stick with some 450 tracks on which worked perfectly in my previous car. In my new Focus it plays alphabetically, not consecutively. My dealer said I needed to create a playlist, but whichever programme I use it either does not recognise the USB media or plays alphabetically again. I need step-by-step guidance please. First Ford since 2000E!


I even tried re-naming the tracks with a prefix aa, ab, ac etc but made no difference.

Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Ford
Expert:  Shantal-Mod replied 2 years ago.

I'm Shantal and I'm a moderator for this topic.

We have been working with the Experts to try to help you with your question. Sometimes it may take a bit of time to find the right fit.

I was checking to see if you had already found your answer or if you still need assistance from one of the Experts.

Please let me know if you wish to continue waiting or if you would like for us to close your question?

Thank you,

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Still waiting!

Expert:  Shantal-Mod replied 2 years ago.

Thank you for getting back to me. We will continue to look for a Professional to assist you.

Thank you for your patience,

Expert:  Mike replied 2 years ago.
Hello and Welcome..

My name is XXXXX XXXXX Im sorry to see you have had a delay on your question.

I'll be honest with you - I suspect no one has replied to you because the answer such as it is, is not good news -

Basically, there is no answer to this - I know this is the case with these systems - that at least at present, is how they work - even as you have described.

This has been the case with others - similar issues - with other vehicles and in time, the manufacturer will ( usually ) come out with a software update that they carry out for free ( when it comes out ) so that the play mode will operate as you are describing it should . Presently though, Im afraid there is no software out to change the way the system reads the there is nothing possible - at least not at the moment.

Too - Ford wont tell you when this comes out - Dealers get Tsbs / notices of such "fixes" as and when they come available - so it really is a case of every so often calling them to ask ...

Im really sorry there is no solution to this for now.. it is as above- but again, in time, when enough people complain to the dealers as you have, they will realise this is an issue their customers are not happy with and issue a "fix" as above....

Once again - Im sorry its not good news - but at least you know the situation now and the future - so to speak..

Kind Rgds to you -

.>> >> > .........Please do click on the "OK/ Excellent ratings" for me as that's how Im credited for helping you - Thank you in advance for that...

You can and are most welcome to get back to me anytime you might need - clicking the OK ratings does not close you out at all..

Rgds, MIKE.

Mike, Ford Technician
Category: Ford
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience: Tech Expert
Mike and other Ford Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
< Previous | Next >
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, do indeed know your stuff. Jim
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex

Meet The Experts:

  • Matt


    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
< Last | Next >
  • Matt's Avatar


    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
  • Mike Kelly's Avatar

    Mike Kelly

    Ford Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    17 years experience as an auto mechanic, foreign and domestic. 5 years running my own repair business.
  • fordspec's Avatar


    Ford Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    ford technician
  • Gallagher99's Avatar


    Senior Vehicle Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

  • Robert's Avatar


    Ford Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Fully qualified 19+yrs exp/self employed technician in the UK
  • /img/opt/shirt.png Mark's Avatar


    Auto Service Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    Qualified City & Guilds

Related Ford Questions