How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Mike Your Own Question

Mike
Mike, Jaguar Technician
Category: Jaguar
Satisfied Customers: 39198
Experience:  Tech Expert
9261905
Type Your Jaguar Question Here...
Mike is online now

lost my key, no spare. covered by insurance but technician

Customer Question

lost my key, no spare. covered by insurance but technician removed old software from my 3.0 v6 x350. could not initially upload new software. eventually did. but still can not program keys to car. keys will open car using lock, no remote function. Will turn engine over but not fire. any ideas if anything could have been overlooked.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Jaguar
Expert:  Mike replied 2 years ago.
Hello and Welcome -

My name is MIKE - Im happy to help / advise you ..

Is this work being done at a Jaguar dealer?

Rgds, MIKE.....................................


Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Work was not being done through dealer, was done by mobile locksmith, sent by keycare insurance. Car now at dealer but they have not looked at problem yet. As stated Mobile removed all software then tried and failed to load new. then tried to reload old version again. jump leads from a generator in his van were connected direct to battery terminals at this time.Battery was in good order with full charge. he had joined tow lengths of jump leads to reach the car the bear metal joints touching the ground. Car engine will turn over and slightly fire but does not run as if it has ran out of fuel, but I did fuel the car to ensure it was not a faulty fuel gauge. Car ran with no problem before locksmith worked on car

Expert:  Mike replied 2 years ago.
Hello Ian -

Thank you for your reply - I apologise - I was not on at the weekend as per norm.

Im afraid we do see this sometimes with auto locksmiths - even the good ones.. its generally down to a software incompatibility with their equipment... and you end up having to use a dealer - as you have.

This should not be a problem for your dealer -- unless it was never a software issue but a fault in the hardware on the car. I would doubt that to be honest - given all was well and you just have a key loss situation - so again, they should be all ok to do that for you..

So let me know how you go --

...Do let me know if you need anything else at all -

Kind Rgds - MIKE.

...Meantime..............Please do click on the "OK/ Excellent ratings" for me as that's how Im credited for helping you - Thank you in advance for that...

You can and are most welcome to get back to me anytime you might need - clicking the OK ratings does not close you out at all..


Rgds, MIKE.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
< Previous | Next >
  • 9 dollars, 2 hours of my time, and I drove away. Your diagnosis was right on the mark. Thank you so much. Phil
  • Lurch. Thank you very much. I had real doubts about this website but your promptness of response, quick followup and to the point answer with picture was incredible. Charles
  • As a single woman, I really appreciate an excellent and affordable opinion.
    Thank you Geordie, I will not hesitate to contact justanswer in the future!
    Sue
  • Another great insight to what may be the problem. I will have my mechanic take a look at it tomorrow. Thanks again, Frank...you do indeed know your stuff. Jim
  • I would (and have) recommend your site to others I was quite satisfied with the quality of the information received, the professional with whom I interacted, and the quick response time. Thanks, and be sure that I'll be back whenever I need a question answered in a hurry. Stephanie P
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Matt

    Matt

    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    132
    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/35/350matt/2012-6-7_182356_matsavatr.64x64.jpg Matt's Avatar

    Matt

    Mechanical Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    132
    BEng hons Mech engineering, in auto industry 22 years
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IN/indytech/2013-8-8_102717_SantoDomingo146598x6402.64x64.jpg Greg's Avatar

    Greg

    Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    1080
    Automotive diagnostic tech
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TE/techmachine/0601821347169_717372168_8940977_39623330_o.64x64.jpg Ross's Avatar

    Ross

    Diagnostic and repair technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    453
    Licensed diagnostic and repair technician
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RO/RobMechanic/068.64x64.JPG Rob's Avatar

    Rob

    ASE Certified Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    82
    30 years trade experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/ukiaibal/2012-11-9_205920_SAM0109.64x64.JPG uk_iaibal's Avatar

    uk_iaibal

    UK Car Mechanic

    Satisfied Customers:

    1
    Verified Car Mechanic.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/NA/nabilc/nabilc_avatar.64x64.jpg Billy's Avatar

    Billy

    Trainer/ Master Technician

    Satisfied Customers:

    38
    Trainer 8+ years, master tech. 10+ years, SAE member