How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Stuart J Your Own Question

Stuart J
Stuart J, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 22403
Experience:  PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street Practice
11292137
Type Your Law Question Here...
Stuart J is online now

I attended a pre hearing review as the Respondent tried to

Customer Question

I attended a pre hearing review as the Respondent tried to strike out my claim. The judge refused the respondents application. At the hearing a number of orders were made including inspection of documents, and the Respondent to provide a bundle to me the claimant by a 05.03.13. The Respondent has failed to provide the bundle and has failed to provide me with the emails I requested in their posession which forms part of my case. Today was the deadline for witness statement exchanges. I sent them mine and they emailed to say they will send theirs Monday. I said the deadline was today and that I will be informing the court of the latest failure to comply with the deadlines set in the order. My question is, because the deadlines have not being compiled with, what can I do? I understand under Rule 13(1) the Tribunal can make a costs order. If so how do I do this, is there a form on the court website I can use to request strike out the claim. The tribunal date is Friday.
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.
Is this an employment case?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.


Yes, sorry I did not make this clear.


I worked for a law firm, I gave my 6 weeks notice and after giving my notice (this is not disputed by the Respondent) I was told that I was being dismissed for gross misconduct for not organising an event properly. This accusation is disputed andI have evidence showing the event was organised. I understand that this wouldnt be a reason anyway for gross misconduct. Since then the Respondent has given many reasons for the gross misconduct, all of which are disputed and I have evidence to support this. The Respondent tried to strike out my claim stating that I had no intention to work my notice even though I arrived for work. They were referring to the wording in my resignation letter, but the judge said it was clear from the wording and because I arrived for work that I intended to work my notice.

Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.




So the WS were supposed to be in today for a
hearing a week today and they have promised them Monday?

What has this cost you finacncially?



Customer: replied 3 years ago.


Yes thats correct. There has been no financial cost, however I thought I could capitalise on the fact that this is the 3rd deadline they have failed to comply with under the order along with not providing me with the bundle and not providing me with the documents I requested under the inspection of documents section of the order. I understand that if an order is not complied with the claim can be struck out. Obviously I dont want to strike out the claim as its my claim but is there an order I can apply for to help my claim. The fact that they havent provided me with the emails I requested affects my evidence.

Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.




I would probably stay quiet as this is prejudicing your
case you can raise it with the judge on the day and ask for adjournment and costs
at £18 per hour for all wasted time.

Alternatively, you can apply to court for an "unless
order", unless they let you have these docs by X date, their defence is struck
out and judgement awarded in favour of the claimant.



You need to attach certificate of urgency (letter) explaining
the urgency and curcumstances and consistent failure and draft order along with
the application. It will then be before a judge usually within a day



Can I help further?

Please bear with me today and
over any weekends because I will be online and off-line.

Please don't forget to positively rate my answer service (even if it was not
what you wanted to hear) and I will follow up any further points you raise for
free.

If you don't rate it positively, then the site keep your deposit and I get 0 for
my time. It is imperative that you give my answer a positive rating. It doesn't
give me "a pat on the head", "good boy" (like ebay), it is my livelihood!

If in ratings you feel that you expected more or it only helped a little,
please ask me for further info before rating me negatively otherwise I don't
get paid at all for my time and answer.

The thread remains open for us to continue this exchange



What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
 
 
 

Related Law Questions