How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Clare Your Own Question

Clare
Clare, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 33300
Experience:  I have been a solicitor in High Street Practice since 1985 with a wide general experience.
13262538
Type Your Law Question Here...
Clare is online now

How can one make a complaint about/to The Land Registry pl

Customer Question

How can one make a complaint about/to The Land Registry please
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
Thank you for your question
What is the issue you are trying to deal with?
Claire
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

I have been trying to mtge a property I bought 10 yrs ago, unfortunately the solicitor did not register it in my name and this has only just come to light. They are trying to sort it out but can't get the response needed. Meanwhile the mtg co won't touch it and I look like losing the new property I want to purchase on a buy to let property. The solicitor has asked to speak to someone in charge but they say no and won't give any further help

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
What remains to be done to complete the Registration?
claire
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

yes, but we are in a hurry and can't get the info needed on how to do it so that it shows I have owned it for 10yrs

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
I appreciate that - but do you know what stage has actually been reached?
Claire
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

The solicitor has written to the land registry to find out how they want him to proceed to get the sale registered. Everything else was completed 10yrs ago. He has had a new transfer deed signed by all parties saying ownership was transferred 10 yrs ago. I don't know what else to tell you. The only problem is getting a response from the Land registry

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
Has your solicitor given any explanation as to why he has not just registered it?
Claire
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Because of the change of law from 10 yrs ago. The registry needs to be backdated otherwise the mtg co will not agree to advance money


my problem is not with him at the moment. it is because he cannot get a reply from the land registry

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
may I ask is it the same solicitor (or firm) dealing with this late registration - and which law is meant to have changed?
Claire
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

yes it's the same firm but the original solicitor died, I don't know which law. I take it that you do not know how to actually get a phone response from the land registry

Expert:  Clare replied 3 years ago.
Hi
I have never had a problem speaking to the Land Registry - as Government Departments go they are actually one of the most helpful and you can phone the general line - give your address and speak to someone specifically about your property
http://www.landregistry.gov.uk/public/contacts
More to the point all that needs to be done is to Register the Transfer and pay any late penalties - there has been no real change of law - although some extra forms need filling in
Claire

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice