How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Stuart J Your Own Question

Stuart J
Stuart J, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 22401
Experience:  PGD Law. 20 years legal profession, 6 as partner in High Street Practice
11292137
Type Your Law Question Here...
Stuart J is online now

i lodged a complaint with the ombudsman regarding ppi mis-sold

Customer Question

i lodged a complaint with the ombudsman regarding ppi mis-sold to our business in October 2012 after initially dealing directly with the bank to no resolve.
my claim has now only just reached an adjudicator. i am now being told that due to the fact the company was dissolved in November 2012 there is no longer a valid complainant.
however we are personally being pursued for the outstanding debt in relation to the ppi and the bank were merely going to offset the refund of ppi and comp. against this debt.

what do i do ?
surely the fact that the complaint was lodged prior to the company being dissolved makes it a valid complaint??

please help advise welcomed
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.

Hello, I am Law Denning and I am a practising solicitor in a High Street practice. I have been an expert on this website in UK law since 2008. During that time, as you appreciate, I have answered thousands of questions from satisfied users on a variety of subjects. Because we are all in practice with clients and court and other users, I might not always respond in minutes, particularly evenings and weekends. Please bear with me in that case

It is my pleasure to try and assist you with this today. Please bear with me
while I gather some further information from you in order for me to be able to
advise you fully.

Unless I have all the facts that I need, my answer would not be accurate.

Do you have a specific question?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

do you think the fact that the complaint was lodged prior to the company being dissolved makes it a valid complaint??


 


i am going to appeal the decision, so on what ground would you advise i do so?


 


if you agree with the obudsman is there any other way of dealing with this issue ?

Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.

I need fine details please. Who is pursuing the co for what?
Which co is in liquidation? As much detail as possible please. Thanks

Customer: replied 3 years ago.

I (NICOLA) lodged a complaint with the ombudsman regarding ppi mis-sold to our business (A ltd) in October 2012 after initially dealing directly with the bank to no resolve.



This claim has now only just reached an adjudicator.


I (NICOLA) am now being told that due to the fact the company(A ltd) was dissolved in November 2012 there is no longer a valid complainant.
however I (NICOLA) am personally being pursued for the outstanding debt due to the factwe gave personal guarantees for the loan the ppi was against.


 


In relation to the ppi the bank were merely going to offset the refund of ppi and compensation against this debt. and persue us for the difference therefore does it matter the company has been disolved and is no longer around to refund.

Expert:  Stuart J replied 3 years ago.
So the co that bought the PPI was dissolved and u r guarantor for other of that co debts?

There is a claim to be had but it is by the liquidator on behalf of the creditors and the refund would be divided between all creditors in proportion.

That might not assist you though

Does that answer even though I imagine it not the answer that you want?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice