How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 69269
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

When I accidentally put the wrong fuel in my car the RAC -

Customer Question

When I accidentally put the wrong fuel in my car the RAC - which I am a member of, charged me £200 to come to my assistance. They told me the reason was because the
Local Authority would be charging them this amount in order to dispose of the retrieved fuel down a public drain. I have since found out this is totally untrue. They local firm they instructed, Kavannah's, informed me that the service they provide for the RAC is totally FREE. They (Kavannah's) make their money by selling the retrieved fuel back to a refinery.
Surely this must be Fraud? Do I have a case for the return of the charges made by the RAC through a Small Claims Court?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 2 years ago.

Thank you for your question. My name is Jo and I will try to help with this.

Do you accept that they are entitled to charge?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

No I do not! I am a member and the service is supposed to be free. They charged me the £200 under false pretences for which they have apologised but still kept my £200.How can that be right?

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

You have not provided any answer, only a question!

Expert:  Jo C. replied 2 years ago.

According to the RAC website they do charge for this service but members get a £50 discount

Wrong fuel is not covered unless you have their optional extra service which costs £24

So having established that they are entitled to charge the only issue appears to be the fact that you have been told something which is completely incorrect. It is illegal to flush fuel down the drain. They may get the service provided for free by someone else but they are entitled to charge for doing the work based upon their terms and conditions.

However because of what you are told I think you do have cause for a valid complaint. If you were to take them to court over this I think they would probably pay up without going to court they may cancel your membership or at least refuse to renew it. That decision however is theirs.

I am sorry if this is bad news for you.

Can I clarify anything?

What Customers are Saying:

  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther

Meet The Experts:

  • Jo C.

    Jo C.


    Satisfied Customers:

    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.


    Satisfied Customers:

    Over 5 years in practice
  • Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • Buachaill's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    Barrister 17 years experience
  • Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry


    Satisfied Customers:

    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • UK_Lawyer's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • Kasare's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • Joshua's Avatar



    Satisfied Customers:

    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice

Related Law Questions