How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10915
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

Could you tell me how I can lodge a complaint against the CPS

Resolved Question:

Could you tell me how I can lodge a complaint against the CPS and how i can get my legal aid solicitor quality assured for the way in which he has delt with my case.
Thank you.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
Alex Watts :

Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you with this. Please note that I am a working Solicitor and may be on and offline as I have to attend Court and meet with clients, even at weekends. As such you may not get an instant response when you reply as this is not an ‘on demand’ live service, but rest assured I will be giving your question my immediate attention upon return. There is no need to wait here, you will get an email when I reply.

Alex Watts :

Could you explain the situation a little more?

Customer:

I am currently a defendant at crown court and i am concerned that the cps are not dealing with my case in a fair way and that my legal aid solicitor is not acting in my best interests, could you tell me how I ask for the way in which they are both working is investigated and how I make a formal complaint if I feel it is appropriate, is there also a way in which I can check my solicitors past performance?

Alex Watts :

Have you complained to the Ombudsman or the CPS directly yet please?

Customer:

sorry i thought I would recieve an email to respond to i am at my computer now if you are available?

Alex Watts :

Yes I am

Alex Watts :

What steps have you taken so far to complain?

Customer:

I have not complained as yet as my case is still being delt with and i am very worried I will cause myself even more issues if i complain at the moment

Alex Watts :

You can check to see if there have been any adverse findings against your Solicitor@:

Alex Watts :

http://www.sra.org.uk/consumers/solicitor-check.page

Customer:

Thank you I will check that

Alex Watts :

However if you are unhappy with your own Solicitor then you can write to the Managing Partner

Alex Watts :

There will be a complaints procedure which the firm should have

Alex Watts :

The partner can investigate the matter and report back to you

Alex Watts :

If you are unhappy with that result then you can complain to the Ombudsman if you wish

Alex Watts :

http://www.legalombudsman.org.uk/

Alex Watts :

As for the CPS you can write to the Chief Prosecutor for the area

Alex Watts :

The CPS can investigate your complaint

Alex Watts :

You can do this online at:

Alex Watts :

https://www.cps.gov.uk/contact/feedback_and_complaints/feedback_and_complaints_form/

Alex Watts :

If you are unhappy with their response you can complain to that Ombudsman

Customer:

I really feel my solicitor is working with cps and are doing what suits them and is not in my best interests can i change solicitors at this very late stage under legal aid?....thank you I will look at those too

Alex Watts :

http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/

Alex Watts :

You could change Solicitors and have it transferred yes

Alex Watts :

Can I clarify anything for you about this today please/

Customer:

Its rather complicated but basically I have pleaded guilty to 4 out of 5 charges and cps have not accepted this but appear to want to go to court on a minor matter and my solicitor has changed his tac and become very accepting of the cps stance despite him advising me to plead as i have done, the cps have also failed to provide evidence they say they had 4 weeks ago and we are due in court on Friday, it all seems like a that I have been the last person to be considered by my solicitor and this has blighted my life for almost 12 months, sorry to ramble but I hope this makes sense?

Customer:

finally how do i go about changing my solicitor do i have to tell the court?

Alex Watts :

You go to another Solicitor and they deal with the paperwork and the transfer. They should also notify the court.

Alex Watts :

I am sorry to hear of your problems.

Alex Watts :

It could be problematic doing it at this late stage but I would do this tomorrow rather than wait

Alex Watts :

Can I clarify anything else for you?

Customer:

sorry last question is there anything I can do about the cps not passing the evidence they say they have until less than 3 days before we go back to court?

Alex Watts :

Yes your Solicitor can make an application to Court that the evidence is excluded or the proceedings are thrown out for non complaince

Alex Watts :

Does this help?

Customer:

definately but what is the dead line?

Alex Watts :

The Court would say they should serve it by x date.

Alex Watts :

If it was not served this is breach of a Court order.

Alex Watts :

If there is no time for your Solicitor to consider this they can apply for an adjournment

Alex Watts :

Does that help?

Customer:

they had to respond to pleas by 4th July which they did on the 4th but they didnt include the evidence and we are due back in court on the 25th

Alex Watts :

Your Solicitor can ask for an adjournment if they have not provided the evidence or make an application to stay proceedings, as I outlined above

Alex Watts :

Does this clarify for you?

Customer:

thank you for your help

Alex Watts :

Great, all the best with this

Alex Watts :

If this answers your question might I invite you to rate my answer

Alex Watts :

If the system wont let you please do say

Alex Watts :

If you need more help please click reply

Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10915
Experience: Solicitor with 5+ years experience
Ash and 2 other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice