How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Alex J. Your Own Question

Alex J.
Alex J., Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 3496
Experience:  Solicitors 2 years plus PQE
13113900
Type Your Law Question Here...
Alex J. is online now

On 4th November 2013 following a cold call telephone call

Customer Question

On 4th November 2013 following a 'cold call' telephone call from a company call Trivium I met their salesman in my home. He offered to install a new boiler and make other insulation measures under the Government "Green Deal Scheme". No payment was required, the cost being met out of savings on our energy bills. He required an upfront 'administration fee' of £299 which he promised would be fully refundable, whether or not we proceeded with the scheme. He further promised an assessment would be made in two to three weeks.
Despite many phone calls and broken promises it was not until 23-2-14 an 'assessor' came to view the property. He promised his report would reach us within 28 days. After this period further calls to Trivium were made but to no avail. Eventually early in July, we received the 'Green Deal Assessment Report' from Trivium with a letter asking me to sign a management contract, authorising them to arrange the necessary funding an installation.
Having considered the way this company has dealt with us and reading the various reports on the internet, we do not wish to enter into a contract with them. It would appear the likelyhood of them fulfillng their obligations in the near future, if at all, are very remote.
Can you please advise me what steps I can take to recover the £299 paid to them please? I see on the internet that they have repaid at least 3 similar customers following an approach on their behalf by the BBC.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Alice H replied 2 years ago.
My name is***** and I'm happy to help with your question today. I need to ask you some preliminary questions to be able to help you.
-Have they given you a date by which you must sign the agreement?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

No date given. Quote: "Please return the form back to us if you wish to proceed with our Free Green Deal Management Service"..............

Expert:  Alex J. replied 2 years ago.
Hi,
Thank you for your question and welcome.
My name is ***** ***** I will assist you.
I would recommend that you write to them as follows:
1. Say that you are not satisfied with their service - their have been numerous delays and you no longer wish to proceed;
2. You were always assured that the deposit would be refundable and as a consumer (and on the basis you were informed it was refundable) you are entitled to have the deposit refunded on demand;
3. As they have clearly not carried out any work say that if they do not refund your deposit with the next 7 days you reserve the right to:
(i) Report them to Trading Standards; https://www.moneyclaim.gov.uk/
or
(ii) Make a money claim against them https://www.moneyclaim.gov.uk/
If they do not respond then I would recommend going to Trading Standards.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
AJ

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice