How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Alex J. Your Own Question

Alex J.
Alex J., Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 3557
Experience:  Solicitors 2 years plus PQE
13113900
Type Your Law Question Here...
Alex J. is online now

Does an executor of a will have to review past bank account

Resolved Question:

Does an executor of a will have to review past bank account activity when the deceased person's finances have been dealt with under Power of Attorney. My brother (executor of my mother's will) is emailing about misappropriation to all and sundry. My sister and I had joint PoA. There has definitely been no misuse of accounts. I understood that probate simply worked on the balance of accounts on death. There are no other assets.
Any guidance you can give will be sooooo appreciated.
Jane Fraser
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Alex J. replied 2 years ago.
Hi,
Thank you for your question and welcome.
My name is ***** ***** I will assist you.
As a Power of Attorney you are a fiduciary, that means you are in a special position of trust and power. In that circumstance your obligation is not to act in conflict with your position and not to unjustly profit from it. As a fiduciary generally it is about doing what is equitable and just. If you have some how mismanaged the account but with best intentions and no dishonest or profiteering then there is really nothing can be held against.
What exactly is the nature of his allegations and what is he demanding from you?
Kind regards
AJ
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Thank you AJ. You have confirmed what I was thinking to a degree.

Could you tell me whether, on the strength only of a Death Certificate and identification of himself, Lloyds Bank would release statement dating from 2011 when the PoA came into effect.?

I was susre that the bank would only provide a final figure of the balance at least until Probate was granted..

Nothing is being demanded at the moment but he has a history of malicious rumour spreading.

I hope you can advise me on this point.

Best wishes

Jane Fraser

Expert:  Alex J. replied 2 years ago.
Hi,
Thank you.
Technically he is the executor and therefore a personal representative - he can request all the bank statements and if the bank agrees to disclose them he is entitled to them. I would be surprised if the bank had statements going back more than 3 year readily available. You are correct he will only be able to get this information when he has been granted the right to deal with her estate.
He should not be making accusations of this nature anyway as they are highly defamatory and he is seemingly doing it without evidence.
Kind regards
AJ
Alex J., Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 3557
Experience: Solicitors 2 years plus PQE
Alex J. and other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice