How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Jo C. Your Own Question
Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 70512
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
12826847
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

does a police officer who has a complaint made against him/her

Resolved Question:

does a police officer who has a complaint made against him have the right to know the complaint

Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
Hi.
Thank you for your question. My name is ***** ***** I will try to help with this.
It depends what you mean. If a complaint is made against any person then the inevitable consequence is that it will be disclosed to that person so that they can answer the allegation. Obviously not all complaints have merit.
That would be the position whatever level the complaint has reached. The officer would need to know about it to respond to it.
Can I clarify anything for you?
Jo
Jo C. and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Jo, my son who is a UK serving police officer who has had a complaint lodged against him by the neighbourhood bully, however professional standards will not reveal details of the complaint rendering him unable to defend himself

Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Sorry Jo I wanted a specific answer, not a generic stock answer,

can professional standards withhold the nature therefore subjecting the officer to limbo but still expect the officer to defend and protect while it gets its shit togbether

Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
So they intend taking any action?
Or is it just to sit on his file?
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Jo that is just it we do not know whether or not they intend to take action, however, they have advised that "J**** get federation representation, because he's going to need it", so where would we go from here???

Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
In that case they are taking action and they will have to disclose this.
They just haven't done it yet which is not unreasonable. There are stages to reports.
He needs to speak to the police federation who will sort out representation.
People are always making reports these days basically because its free and it makes them feel powerful. It doesn't mean they have any merit.
Jo C. and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Many thanks Jo

Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
No problem and all the best.
Remember that I am always available to help with your questions. Even if I am in Court I will usually pick up a question within 12 hours. For future information, please start your question with ‘For Jo C’.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

Again Jo many thanks I now have a clear direction of approach

Expert:  Jo C. replied 3 years ago.
You are welcome.