How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Kasare Your Own Question

Kasare
Kasare, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 1301
Experience:  Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
12488363
Type Your Law Question Here...
Kasare is online now

I was dismissed (wrongly in my opinion) from my previous employer

Resolved Question:

I was dismissed (wrongly in my opinion) from my previous employer on 06/02/15 and was told my outstanding salary would be paid on 20/02/15 which was the next payroll date. I was not paid on this date and after speaking with the company was told it would be the 06/03/15, again I was not paid. I have spoke to them since and now they are telling me that due to a witness statement I have apparently signed they need to investigate further until I can be paid. I have not signed any witness statement, and have been incurring costs due to not being paid on time. Where do I stand with regards ***** ***** law and what action can I take to get paid what I am owed and costs incurred during this period. I have kept all email correspondence as proof of what they have promised and failed to deliver on.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Kasare replied 1 year ago.
Hi thanks for your question, I will assist you with this.
If your employer has not paid your wages then there are two ways in which you can proceed:
1. You can make a claim against them in the Employment Tribunal for unlawful deduction of wages; or
2. You can bring a claim for breach of contract in the Employment Tribunal or County Court.
However, with unlawful deduction of wages you would not be able to include a claim for any costs incurred as these are not wages. If you wish to try and recover these then it would have to be a claim for breach of contract. You would have to show a court or tribunal that it would be reasonable to recover these costs from your employer.
In the employment tribunal you have 3 months less one day from the date of dimissal to bring a claim. However, if you miss this deadline you can bring a claim in the Court and have up to 6 years from the date that the breach (i.e. the failure to pay the wages) to bring a claim for breach of contract.
Also, if you really do consider that their dismissal of you was wrong or unfair, then you could consider bringing a claim for unfair/wrongful dismissal as well as the unlawful deduction claim.
I would recommend that you write to your employers and advise them that you have incurred costs as a result of their conduct and that you seek payment of your wages, plus the costs that you have incurred (ensure you detail the costs you are claiming) within 7 days failing which you will commence a claim in the tribunal for unlawful deduction of wages/breach of contract and unfair or wrongful dismissal.
If you do decide to proceed with a claim against your employer - I would recommend that you take face to face advise first from a solicitor on the potential for unfair dismissal. The unpaid wages is a simple claim but you need to explain the full situation to ascertain if you were dismissed unfairly/wrongfully.
I hope this assists, if you have any further questions, please ask.
Kasare, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 1301
Experience: Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
Kasare and other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice