How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask JGM Your Own Question

JGM
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10919
Experience:  30 years as a practising solicitor.
31090051
Type Your Law Question Here...
JGM is online now

I made a complaint about a colleague with whom I share an office

Resolved Question:

I made a complaint about a colleague with whom I share an office who I felt was bullying me. It turned out she had a history of harassing her office mates. I have never spoken to her about it directly, though her line manager has made her aware of my complaint and she clearly isn't happy with me. She works part time so, while I wait for a desk to open up elsewhere so I can move permanently, I sit with another colleague on the days she is in and sit in 'our' office when she is off. Today I noticed that an expensive jacket i left hanging in a suit bag on a rail in our office is missing. I have searched everywhere for it, despite having had no reason to move the jacket out of the office. And if I had moved it, I would have taken the suit bag with it. I think she may have done something with it. What should I do? I have no evidence. Setting up a covert camera to see if she does similar if I hang another jacket there seems like an extreme reaction, but is the only thing I can think of. I have tried to be as professional as possible about the bullying as she clearly has problems, but am so, so stressed by the situation at work that my jacket going missing is the final straw.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  JGM replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for your question.
You can report the missing jacket to your employer's but in the absence of evidence there is little that can be done.
Although it seems extreme taking a covert video or even putting a tracking device in another jacket or similar would appear to be one and perhaps the only way of dealing with this.
Please leave a positive response so that I am credited for my time.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Isn't videoing her without her/my employer's permission illegal? I am not a lawyer but I should mention that I work for a magic circle law firm

Would the history of bullyang and the absence of any other logical explanation for the disappearance of the jacket mitigate (from a legal standpoint) the decision to covertly video her?

What if the recording device is discovered before it has recorded anything incriminating - wouldn't my firm be justified in sacking me for gross misconduct/unlawful behaviour?

Expert:  JGM replied 2 years ago.
There may be issues with that if your employer didn't know about it. That's why I also suggested putting a tracking device in a jacket, such as a smart phone for example.
JGM, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10919
Experience: 30 years as a practising solicitor.
JGM and other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
 
 
 

Related Law Questions