How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10915
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

In a complaint letter to the chair of a charitable organisation

Customer Question

In a complaint letter to the chair of a charitable organisation I would like to inform of self disclosure by my supervisor, who claims to have recovered from these traits.
How do I formulate the information without libel, slander deformation etc?
She disclosed that she had
shoplifted, been and alcoholic, had asbos issued against her and had been asked to defer her university completion because it was identified that she was in a manic state.
She believed in self disclosure to prove that with applying the therapy she provides she had recovered. I admired her for that until she started to display and anger and manic activity and now published lible towards me for which I am complaining.
Here is her acknowledgement of my admiration for her self disclosure:
'Dear Claire
Thank you for your warm message.
it doesn’t surprise me that you can express such warmth, compassion and loving kindness towards another.
However, my self-disclosure, as a use of self, will be rendered meaningless unless this is contributing towards your being able
to apply those same loving qualities, patiently and congruently towards yourself.
I sincerely ***** ***** trust that it is.'
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you with this.
Do you know the facts of the letter to be true please?
Note there may be a slight delay in my reply as I have a number of client conferences today. But I will get back to you a short time later.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

hi Alex

Thank you for your reply.

It is true that the woman said to me - there were no witnesses -

She disclosed that she had
shoplifted, been and alcoholic, had asbos issued against her and had been asked to defer her university completion because it was identified that she was in a manic state.

She had recovered from this kind of behaviour and mental state. And I admired her for this.

She believed in self disclosure to prove that with applying the therapy she provides she had recovered. I admired her for that UNTIL she started to display anger and manic activity towards me and became careful of her.

I have launched a complaint about her. She describes herself being angry irritable etc when she threw 'thumped' the file down etc. This made me very cautious as I did not want to be the next one she might choose to act her anger out on.

I would not write this but I do want to know the employer to know that according to her she has a past history of impulsive behaviour and possibly mental health issues. I know I must not be discriminatory but I must not be open to further attack and call for caution.

She acknowledged my admiration as i stated before by saying:


'Dear Claire


Thank you for your warm message.


it doesn’t surprise me that you can express such warmth, compassion and loving kindness towards another.


However, my self-disclosure, as a use of self, will be rendered meaningless unless this is contributing towards your being able


to apply those same loving qualities, patiently and congruently towards yourself.


I sincerely ***** ***** trust that it is.'



I look forward to hearing from you soon as I need to complete my letter.


Many thanks


Kind regards


Claire

Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
In that case you do not need to worry. If it is true then you have nothing to worry about.
But let's take the extreme case where it isn't true and she claimed you have defended her. If this was to court to court it would have to be a high court issue and would cost at least. £15,000 to take it to court.
It's a very complex and expensive procedure I am sure they would not want to follow. In any event if you said sorry the court would dismiss the claim in any event.
The whole point is that is should only be used where stars are defamed in the newspaper for clearly untrue stories.
So in short I do not think you should worry.
Can I clarify anything for you about this today please?
Alex
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your reply.
1. Please note I did not ' defend' her . She might take it as an offence especially as mental health issues are involved and if she had as is she will have them served Nd done with.
2 I don't know if what she said is true .
3I only know that it is true that she said this to me.
I don't want to end up l
Sued for libel -
If I write this to the chair with the heading confidential then it is not for publishing and there is not a 3rd person involved. Is that sufficient cover for me.
Basically how do I word it so that she can't sue?
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
You won't be sued don't worry.
You can use the words allegedly. This means you don't know for sure.
Does that help?
Alex
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
If this answers your question might I ask you to rate my answer before you go today please, the button should be at the bottom of the screen.
If you need more help please click reply.
Alex
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
Hi
I am just following up on this. Is there anything else I can help with? If so, please let me know.
Alex.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Dear Alex
My internet is down an I can only rarely and not adequately access your answers.
Please how do I report in writing state in my complaint that Mrs X has reported to me that she had been an alcoholic A Shop lifter had Asbos issued and had been asked to defer from university because she had acted ( her dissertation was manic) in a manic manner WHITHOUT slandering or lible . Remember I am complaining about this Mrs X and her slander and lible !
I felt threatened and intimidated by the behaviour she displayed against ME and this is when I remembered that she has a history of abusive behaviour ?
I look forward to hearing from you thank you . This your answer is important to me. I don't want suing
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
You just the words alledgely then you wont be sued.
Alex
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
Hi

I am just following up on this. Is there anything else I can help with? If so, please let me know.

Alex.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice