How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Jo C. Your Own Question
Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 31300
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
12826847
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

What is a judges review after a case has finished and how would

Customer Question

what is a judges review after a case has finished and how would you go about requesting, one
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you.
Do you mean a Judicial Review?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I'm not sure, its where a judge will give their opinion on the facts of the case, not sure if they can point out where the defence is lacking, I think it needs to be paid for.

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
When did the case complete?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

completion was on 10th June 2015

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
When you say a judges opinion I don't really follow you? Did the case complete after a trial? Were you displeased with the outcome ?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

the final charging order was on 10th June 2015, this was to confirm the amount of compensation I have to pay. The compensation is excessive hence my question (currently standing at approx £1,000,000)

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
But the compensation charge was as a result of a previous court order?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

only in part, there was an interim charging order for part of the compensation, and then the decision on the compensation was in March, with the final charging order in June.

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
Ok, but what triggered the charging order? There must have been a CCJ?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Yes there was a judgement against me to pay compensation of approx. 1 million, obviously we don't have that sort of cash so we have to sell the farm to raise the money and the claimant will take us back to court in august to see if he can enforce the sale of our property or take it in lieu of payment.

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
Ok.When was this case of £1m?
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

The last time we went to court was in March 2015 that was when we found out the final judgement.

Expert:  Ash replied 2 years ago.
You want to appeal the CCJ?