How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Buachaill Your Own Question

Buachaill
Buachaill, Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10458
Experience:  Barrister 17 years experience
53108719
Type Your Law Question Here...
Buachaill is online now

Can I please have the opinion of a criminal lawyer.

Resolved Question:

Hi.
Can I please have the opinion of a criminal lawyer.
I realise what I am asking for here is a personal opinion and not really a matter of fact answer ...
Would you say it's is fair to call the UK a police state?
To what extend have the civil liberties and freedoms of UK citizens been taken away?
Thanks for your time and answer
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Buachaill replied 1 year ago.
1. It would not be fair to call the UK a police state. It might be fair to call the UK a law and order society. But it is not fair to say that it is a police state where what the police decide goes and in which the police dominate over its citizenry. In the UK the police have draconian powers, most notably under Part 13 of the Terrorism Act which allows police to detain people without trial. However, most if not all, police powers are subject to review by the courts and should you be harshly treated by the police, there is both the remedy of obtaining your liberty and also of suing them for money damages. Countries which amount to police states see people being detained without trial and having their civil liberties trampled upon. The UK isnot such a country and in fact takes in many thousand asylum seekers each year, many of whom have lived in police states and will testify that the UK is a place where police powers are circumscribed.
Expert:  Buachaill replied 1 year ago.
2. Civil liberties and freedoms have been taken away in certain areas and in certain respects. Any hint of terrorism or suggestion of terrorism greatly corrodes the protections given to people arrested. So too are the rights to freedom association curtailed in the UK by only permitting marches or demonstrations to occur should assent be given by the local Chief constable. Disturbance of privacy and personal freedom by intelligence gathering never comes to light given the extensive secrecy given to the activities of the domestic UK intelligence agencies. These are some examples of where civil liberties and freedoms have been harshly imposed upon by the excessive granting of police powers in the UK. All are justified in the name of law and order.
Buachaill, Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10458
Experience: Barrister 17 years experience
Buachaill and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thank you for your answer. Much appreciate your time.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice