How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Alex J. Your Own Question

Alex J.
Alex J., Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 3612
Experience:  Solicitors 2 years plus PQE
13113900
Type Your Law Question Here...
Alex J. is online now

I need a "legal opinion" to qualify me to become a money man

Resolved Question:

i need a "legal opinion" to qualify me to become a money manager and open a trading account where i can trade other peoples money
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Alex J. replied 1 year ago.
Hi, Thank you for your question and welcome. My name is ***** ***** I will assist you. In order to do what you have proposed you need to comply with the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000. What you are proposing is potentially carrying out a regulated activity. In order to carry out a regulated activity you need to have authorization. The FCA is responsible for such authorisation - https://small-firms.fca.org.uk/authorisation . Do you have any specific questions on this? Kind regards AJ
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hi yes, my broker requests one of two thing:



  • Financial services license or legal opinion in the operating jurisdiction


In your opinion, which one of these is easier to obtain, and how would I go about getting one?

Expert:  Alex J. replied 1 year ago.
Hi, Thank you. If you are operating in the UK Jurisdiction then the only option is to obtain FCA Authorisation (i.e a license) - this costs about £1500 and can take up to 6 months. In the meantime there are companies and service providers that will charges fees in order provide you with the authorisation while you are waiting for your own. Can you tell me anything about the services you are providing, your client base (i.e consumer, business etc) and what you are investing in? Kind regards AJ
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

OK that makes sense. I am a currency trader, trading the forex market online. I have been trading for over 5 years. I already have people copying my trades through signalstart.com, however I want to open a money manager account through my broker icmarkets.com so then I can take on new clients with larger amounts to invest, as a result of any profit I make my clients I will take 30% of any new profit made and the investors keep 70%. This is the reason I need the licence but up until now I haven't needed one.

Expert:  Alex J. replied 1 year ago.
Thank you. The main issue that means you need regulation is the fact that you are taking deposits of other peoples money. This is the element that really means you need authorisation. As you have experience in the industry in all likelihood you should not have too many problems obtaining a authorisation. Can I assist you any further?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

No, I think I have enough to be going on with for now. I will pursue the FCA authorization process and see how it goes. Thanks very much

Expert:  Alex J. replied 1 year ago.
Thank you. If you have any follow questions please do not hesitate to contact me? Kind regards AJ
Alex J., Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 3612
Experience: Solicitors 2 years plus PQE
Alex J. and other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice