How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 30929
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
12826847
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

I recently produced a design and floor plans, conversion to

Customer Question

Hi Ben
I recently produced a design and floor plans, for a conversion to an existing building to provide three dwellings. That work was paid for and planning approval was gained.
I then let the owner see an alternative idea (drawing), providing one dwelling. They have employed an architect to copy the drawing and used it for a revised application.
The drawing had limited written detail as it was only an option I had considered, more for my own interest rather than one to promote.
How do stand with regards ***** ***** right, or being able to claim title and charge for my work.
Thank you and Happy New Year to you!
Peter
Submitted: 11 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Nicola-mod replied 11 months ago.
Hello,
I've been working hard to find a Professional to assist you with your question, but sometimes finding the right Professional can take a little longer than expected.
I wonder whether you're ok with continuing to wait for an answer. If you are, please let me know and I will continue my search. If not, feel free to let me know and I will cancel this question for you.
Thank you!
Nicola
Expert:  Nicola-mod replied 11 months ago.
Hello,
I apologise as we have not yet been able to find a Professional to assist you. Do you wish for me to continue to search for someone to assist you or would you like for us to close your question at this time?
Thank you for your patience,
Nicola
Customer: replied 11 months ago.
I will leave the question unanswered for the time being.
I presume the deposit has not been charged for?
Expert:  Nicola-mod replied 11 months ago.
Hello,
We will continue to look for a Professional to assist you.
The deposit will have been charged as per our terms and conditions but we refund on request if you are not satisfied for any reason.
Thank you for your patience,
Nicola
Expert:  Jenny replied 11 months ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I will try to help you with this. Did the owner retain the other drawing (that you did not charge for?)
Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Yes, they still have it. I and the customer live in the same village in Warwickshire, the architect who have copied my plans are based In Glasgow (?).
I have not had any conversation with them as yet, as I only saw the application, on line, over the Holliday.
Peter
Expert:  Jenny replied 11 months ago.
Are you sure it is exactly the same? Have you approached them yet about it?
Expert:  Jenny replied 11 months ago.
Hi I think there was a slight technical difficulty. Have you approached the customer about this and asked them why they have used the plan without your permission?
Customer: replied 11 months ago.
Yes it is the same and no, I have not approached them as yet. Their app'n only went to planning last week.
Expert:  Jenny replied 11 months ago.
Did you have terms and conditions with them and were they aware from those terms and conditions, or otherwise, that the design in question was not for their use?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice