How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

Freedom of information Request: A complaint was made to my

Resolved Question:

Freedom of information Request: A complaint was made to my professional organisation /regulatory body by a neighbours daughter. She is in her late 30's. Her complaint was false.. I wish to take legal action against the complainant for making a false complaint. She complained to the police that she heard lots of shouting and swearing which was true. She complained to my professional organisation that she saw me hit a vehicle with a stick(as it drove towards me) which is false, she did not . My professional body has stated that they have considered my request for releasing information regarding this complaint against me but cannot disclose it to me . Can I compel them to disclose this complaint against me under freedom of information act as it is malicious and will only encourage the complainant and her family to continue making false complaints. They are vengeful due to a boundary dispute.
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you.They are correct. This would breach the Data Protection Act. The only way you can get the information is with a Court order.Can I clarify anything for you about this today please?Alex
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Thank you , I must have been wrong in thinking that data protection will protect date but provide some protection against malicious complaints by individuals who wish to remain anonymous to the complainant (because they have made a false complaint and action can be taken against them).

Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.
Sadly they can't give you the details of who made the complaint. Only the court can order disclosure.I realise this is frustrating. Can I clarify anything else?Alex
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

I know who made the complaint. Do I have a right to know the contents of a complaint against me after the data has been anonymised?

Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.
Yes. That can be redacted. Does that clarify? Alex
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

Thank you . Yes I need to be more specific when requesting this information form my professional body. Is it correct to inform them that I have a right to obtain information regarding a malicious complaint against me. I do not need the complainants personal data (i.e. their name etc , which is already know to me)

Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.
Correct. Does that help? Alex
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience: Solicitor with 5+ years experience
Ash and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 10 months ago.

excellent thank you

Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.
All the best. Alex

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
 
 
 

Related Law Questions