How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 69364
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
12826847
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

My name is***** I purchased a car son

Customer Question

Hi, my name is***** I purchased a car for my son to learn to drive from Evans Halshaw. He didn't feel confident about driving it until the beginning of March and the first time he took it out it broke down. The guy who helped us get it off the road told us the timing belt had gone. On Evans Halshaws instruction I had the car towed back to them at a cost of £180. They told me they would look st it immediately. Three days later I got fed up with being told they didn't know when they would look at it so I contacted Consuner Advice. They told me to email them that if the car wasn't looked at that day I would have it towed to another garage and get a quote from then at their cost. They looked st the car the aame day and confirmed the car needed a new engine as the timing belt had broken. They returned the car to me a week and a half later and the mechanic who returned it assured me all was well. I was therefore surprised when I turned the car on that an engine warning light came on. I phoned them again and the service manager said 'oh you're phoning about the Windows not working'. I told him that I wasn't aware that the Windows didn't work as I was only moving the car off the road onto the drive. He said he would make arrangements for the car to be collected. After three weeks of waiting I decided that not only could I not trust the car but I couldn't trust Evans Halshae either so I sent them a letter telling them I wanted to exercise my final right to reject as advised by Consuner rights. The day they received the letter they left a message to say they would pick up the car to repair. They have come back to me to say they will not make a refund for the faults the cat currently has. Could you please let me know my rights under these circumstances as I don't want to be throwing good money after bad.
Submitted: 6 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 6 months ago.
How much did you pay and how old is the car?
Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Car cost £4739.98
Car registered 29/12/2009
Expert:  Jo C. replied 6 months ago.
Sorry for the delay. I lost my connection.Im afraid you don't have a right to reject on these facts. This is a purchase from December and you have to give them a reasonable opportunity to repair this vehicle.
Expert:  Jo C. replied 6 months ago.
I realise you may be displeased with it but that does not get over the hurdle of showing that you have given them reasonable opportunity to repair. Apart from anything else the cambelt can go at any time on any car and does not say much about it's condition at all.You do have a right to repair though obviously but they are making that offer.I'm very sorry but I'm afraid you have to be realistic.Can I clarify anything for you?Jo
Customer: replied 6 months ago.
The car did go back to them in March for repair (they had the car for two weeks) but when they returned it the mechanic told me everything was working but was fully aware that the Windows no longer worked. I cannot say whether he knew the warning light was on but as soon as I turned the car on it lit up. The 3 week wait was for the repairs needed after the car was returned from the first repairs. I was told by consumer advise that they only get one chance to repair the car and this they have had. My apologies if I have somehow misunderstood.
Expert:  Jo C. replied 6 months ago.
Yes, but it is for a dissimilar fault.I'm afraid that consumer advise haven't the remotest idea.
Expert:  Jo C. replied 6 months ago.
It is not that you have misunderstood. They have probably given you wrong advise.If they are saying that you can reject after one attempt at repair then that is just plain wrong.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice