How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Jo C. Your Own Question

Jo C.
Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 69775
Experience:  Over 5 years in practice
12826847
Type Your Law Question Here...
Jo C. is online now

I left a review on Tripadviser about a Resturant. The owner

Resolved Question:

Hi, I left a review on Tripadviser about a Resturant. The owner responded on Tripadviser and has accused me of verbal blackmail, not looking to gain just don't like what I believe is a serious accusation. Any advice greatly appreciated.
Submitted: 8 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Jo C. replied 8 months ago.

What would you like to know about this please?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Hi I've attached a screenshot of my review and the owners response I have a draft of what would be my response if I had the chance to publicly defend the accusation of verbal blackmail. I would like her to remove her accusation from this very public domain.
Thank you
Sorry if you get 2 x reply my iPad crashed
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Please see my draft response
Expert:  Jo C. replied 8 months ago.

Ok. So what is your question about this?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
My question is: do I have any legal rights to this kind of accusation made on a public web site?
Expert:  Jo C. replied 8 months ago.

Did you say anything about a refund and telling everybody how bad the food was?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
I told the owner I would not pay for the mixed salad.
I told her I would tell my friends and family not to go there, but certainly did not say it in order to gain a refund.
Expert:  Jo C. replied 8 months ago.

It is always very difficult to prove what was said.

There is no such thing as verbal blackmail. A blackmail is a blackmail whether reduced to writing or not. It is possible to argue in academic law that a threat to tell everybody something that would be damaging to a person in exchange for financial gain is a blackmail. It is not one the police would be interested in but it is blackmail in academic law.

To take action against him you would have to do so in defamation. That is quite hard to do in this instance essentially because you are anonymous on these review sites and so it cannot be damaging to your reputation. If it is not damaging then there is no defamation. Action ends.

If you can get over that hurdle then you would have to show on the balance of probabilities that you didnt say what he says. That would probably be easier to do that you think as he won't have made notes of the conversation so it might well be possible to shake him during the course of cross examination

But the anonymity is a problem.

You could always get a solicitor to write to him warning him of the risk of a defamation action if he does not remove it or edit it. That would cost about £100 plus VAT and may work.

Can I clarify anything for you?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Thank you for your answer, I'd guessed it would probably not be worth taking further, but felt strongly that I had been wrongly accused of blackmail, interestingly her response starts with my name.
Again thank you.
Expert:  Jo C. replied 8 months ago.

Usually defamation is not worth the cost.

A letter before action can be though

Jo C., Barrister
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 69775
Experience: Over 5 years in practice
Jo C. and other Law Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice