How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

Alex, I'd like to review a document and tell me if I

Customer Question

Hi Alex,I'd like for you to review a document for me and tell me if I have to pay my solicitor their costs and advice me on how I can get help from SRA.
Submitted: 8 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

Thanks for asking for me. You can upload it here and I can review it for the additional cost.

How many page(s) is it?
Alex

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Its a PDF document with a total of 31 pages. It contains the CFA signed, Court Order, their terms and conditions and a letter that my Insurance Company sent them.
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

Ok - Ive put forward an offer to review this long document

Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience: Solicitor with 5+ years experience
Ash and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Thanks - I look forward to hearing from you.
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

Did you take out an insurance policy?
Are they claiming all their costs or just disbursements only?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
I took out an 'After The Events' insurance policy and they said it's void now and they are claiming all their costs (professional and disbursements).
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

But its only void because of this fundamental dishonesty business?

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Yeah, because of the allegations made.
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

Ok - I have looked through the whole agreement.

UNLESS FD was found against you, then you walk away.

The insurance is NOT void and you do NOT have to pay anything.

If they say you do take it to the Legal Ombudsman - http://www.legalombudsman.org.uk/

Tell them you have spoke to the Court and there is No order as to costs.

Alex

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
When I asked for that document today this is what they said in email"Please note the order states there is no order as to costs. You must bear in mind that this refers to the Defendants costs and was prior to your own insurers conclusions."
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

Yes. But if there was NO finding your insurance will cover this.

There was no finding - so you dont need to pay.

Alex

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Thanks Alex - I'll write to them in the morning.If I need further guidance or advice, I'll come back to you, you've been brilliant and very helpful.
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

sure.

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Sorry I forgot to ask earlier, could I contact the Insurance company that they claim that is void if they have paid them or not?
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

You could but thats not relevant, its your agreement between you and Sols

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Hey Alex,I'm in the middle of writting my letter. Yesterday when you said that my Insurance will cover the costs, is that my own Insurers or the Insurance Policy that I took out with my Solicitor?
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

ATE insurers. Alex

Customer: replied 8 months ago.
My Solicitors have said because I've breached their terms and conditions, the ETA denied their claim. My solictors terms and conditions work hand in hand with ETA.
Expert:  Ash replied 8 months ago.

But you didnt breach them, you were not dishonest. They are trying it on

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
 
 
 

Related Law Questions