How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Ash Your Own Question
Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

Alex, I'd like to review a document and tell me if I

Customer Question

Hi Alex,I'd like for you to review a document for me and tell me if I have to pay my solicitor their costs and advice me on how I can get help from SRA.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

Thanks for asking for me. You can upload it here and I can review it for the additional cost.

How many page(s) is it?
Alex

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Its a PDF document with a total of 31 pages. It contains the CFA signed, Court Order, their terms and conditions and a letter that my Insurance Company sent them.
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

Ok - Ive put forward an offer to review this long document

Ash and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks - I look forward to hearing from you.
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

Did you take out an insurance policy?
Are they claiming all their costs or just disbursements only?

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I took out an 'After The Events' insurance policy and they said it's void now and they are claiming all their costs (professional and disbursements).
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

But its only void because of this fundamental dishonesty business?

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yeah, because of the allegations made.
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

Ok - I have looked through the whole agreement.

UNLESS FD was found against you, then you walk away.

The insurance is NOT void and you do NOT have to pay anything.

If they say you do take it to the Legal Ombudsman - http://www.legalombudsman.org.uk/

Tell them you have spoke to the Court and there is No order as to costs.

Alex

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
When I asked for that document today this is what they said in email"Please note the order states there is no order as to costs. You must bear in mind that this refers to the Defendants costs and was prior to your own insurers conclusions."
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

Yes. But if there was NO finding your insurance will cover this.

There was no finding - so you dont need to pay.

Alex

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks Alex - I'll write to them in the morning.If I need further guidance or advice, I'll come back to you, you've been brilliant and very helpful.
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

sure.

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Sorry I forgot to ask earlier, could I contact the Insurance company that they claim that is void if they have paid them or not?
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

You could but thats not relevant, its your agreement between you and Sols

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hey Alex,I'm in the middle of writting my letter. Yesterday when you said that my Insurance will cover the costs, is that my own Insurers or the Insurance Policy that I took out with my Solicitor?
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

ATE insurers. Alex

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
My Solicitors have said because I've breached their terms and conditions, the ETA denied their claim. My solictors terms and conditions work hand in hand with ETA.
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.

But you didnt breach them, you were not dishonest. They are trying it on