How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

I have a complaint about noise from a new building

Resolved Question:

I have a complaint about noise from a new building development? The noise occurs from 7:40am until 6:15pm Monday- Friday. The noise is from heavy building machinery and from rock breaking and prevents me from even opening windows on a summer's day or from enjoying my garden. In addition, I am a self employed dyslexia tutor/assessor. I work from home and my pupils are complaining of being unable to concentrate. Conducting a four hour dyslexia assessment session in my home environment is no longer possible because of the nise disturbance. Can I take this further at court?
Submitted: 10 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you.

Have you complained to the Council at all please?

If so, what have they said?
Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
They say the building work has been passed but that despite being told to use additional equipment to 'muffle' the extreme noise, they persist. Council has also asked that they only use certain noisy equipment between 8;30 -16:00, the builders persist!
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Have they installed noise monitoring equipment?

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
No. I telephoned last Friday to request they install noise monitoring equipment at my premises and no-one was in the office. Today I'm told the man in charge of noise disturbance is on leave until Thursday. I will certainly be calling again to request some.This noise has been going on now for 5 weeks. Might I have a case to pursue? Or is it too early to say?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

You may have a case but you need noise monitoring equipment. Without that if you took it to Court a Judge would ask where is the evidence? You would say you have a witness statement, but a Judge will say how do I know what level it was?
The Judge will need independent evidence to show what the noise is and how often it is happening.

Therefore before any case can proceed you need this noise recording levels evidence.

Once you have that, then yes you may well have a claim. But you cant bring a claim until you have this evidence.

Can I clarify anything for you about this today please?
Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
Is there anything else I should be doing (ie. videoing from my phone) in the meantime?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

You can video, but sadly that does not show noise levels. A Judge will need some indication of levels for evidence.

Does that clarify? Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
but I was also thinking about the proximity of all this building work to my own house. You can actually feel the vibrations of the rock hammer drill, I can only imagine what it's doing to the foundations of my house.
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Yes you can certainly get it to show that. If you are concerned about foundations you may have to get a buildings survey if you think damage has been done

Does that clarify? Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
What are my next steps once I have the noise monitoring equipment installed?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Get the readings, issue a letter before action and then sue.

Does that clarify? Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
Issue a letter? Stating what? That I have been subjected to noise levels of XXX between X dates as monitored by the equipment. It has detrimentally affected both my personal and working life and I find it wholly unacceptable. I do feel some compensation is due?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Yes I agree. But the Civil Procedure Rules require that you send a letter before action. That is a requirement of the civil Courts.

Does that clarify? Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
Over what approximate period of time do you think the noise monitoring equipment would be required?
Is there a cost that I would have to pay to take such action?
What is the procedure?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Probably 2 weeks. Yes there is a cost.

County Court fees are listed here. You will see there is a hearing fee and issue fee.

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/fees-for-civil-and-family-courts/court-fees-for-the-high-court-county-court-and-family-court

The Court issues a claim they either admit or deny it. If its admitted the Court decides how much you will get. If its denied then there is a trial and you have to prove there was a noise nuisance etc, which is where the equipment readings come in.

It would need to be over a couple of weeks the evidence.

Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
this information is valid for courts in Northern Ireland?
Do I need to contact a solicitor or can I do this independently?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

Yes although the Court fees may be different.

https://www.courtsni.gov.uk/en-GB/Services/CourtFees/Pages/CourtFees.aspx

You can do this yourself but really you should get a Solicitor to do this for you.

If the claim is over £3000 its not a small claim and you would be liable for the legal fees of the other side if you lose.

Does that clarify?
Alex

Customer: replied 10 months ago.
If I need to contact you again, is there another fee payable?
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

If its related to the same question, no

If its a new question on procedure or something else, then yes.

If I could invite you to rate my answer before you go today please, otherwise the site does not credit me for the time spent with you today. Thanks and good luck. Alex

Ash, Solicitor
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 10916
Experience: Solicitor with 5+ years experience
Ash and other Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 10 months ago.
Thanks Alex. I do appreciate you help.
Heather
Expert:  Ash replied 10 months ago.

And I appreciate your question Heather. Good luck

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice