How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask F E Smith Your Own Question

F E Smith
F E Smith, Advocate
Category: Law
Satisfied Customers: 8537
Experience:  I have been practising for 30 years.
18203470
Type Your Law Question Here...
F E Smith is online now

I want to appeal a recent case I lost, in my opinion the

Customer Question

I want to appeal a recent case I lost, in my opinion the Judge did not consider the factual evidence I presented. The directions questionnaire the defendant completed prior to the hearing suggested that he would be appearing in person, even to the point of providing dates when he could not appear. When I attended court for the hearing it turned out that he was represented by a legal advocate and I was not informed. Do I have grounds to apply for the order setting aside on these grounds?
Regards
Mr J Gledhill
Submitted: 4 months ago.
Category: Law
Expert:  F E Smith replied 4 months ago.

Was this Small Claims Court, fast or multitrack?

What was the evidence which you presented and widened the judge not consider it?

Did you not raise the issue of the other sides legal representation being a surprise, at the outset of the hearing?

Customer: replied 4 months ago.
photographic and actual statements of account. I didn't question the other sides representation.
Expert:  F E Smith replied 4 months ago.

Was this Small Claims Court, fast or multitrack?

Customer: replied 4 months ago.
small claims track.
Expert:  F E Smith replied 4 months ago.

The grounds for appeal are that the judge made an error of law or an error of fact.

If there is an error of fact (he didn’t consider the evidence) then you have grounds for appeal. However, just because he didn’t discuss it at length doesn’t necessarily mean he didn’t consider it. I am actually surprised that the other side used solicitors in the Small Claims Court because they would not recover those costs normally apart from a nominal amount.

Be aware that if you appeal lose, and the other side convince the judge that you have acted unreasonably in bringing this appeal, they may get court costs awarded against you which could be substantial so it depends how certain you are of winning your appeal and what the amount of the judgement was as to whether it’s worthwhile simply accepting the judgement as it was and moving on. Appeals from the Small Claims Court are not that common

Can I clarify anything else for you?

Please rate the service positive. It is an important part of the process by which experts get paid. It does not cost you anything but helps us greatly.

Best wishes.

FES

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Jo C.

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Jo C.'s Avatar

    Jo C.

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    30316
    Over 5 years in practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BE/benjones/2015-12-1_0437_ennew.64x64.jpg Ben Jones's Avatar

    Ben Jones

    UK Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    11553
    Qualified Solicitor - Please start your question with 'For Ben Jones'
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/BU/Buachaill/2012-5-25_211156_barrister5.64x64.jpg Buachaill's Avatar

    Buachaill

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    1754
    Barrister 17 years experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JO/jojobi/2013-3-19_0265_maxlowryphoto.64x64.jpg Max Lowry's Avatar

    Max Lowry

    Advocate

    Satisfied Customers:

    894
    LLB, 10 years post qualification experience
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/UK/UKLawyer/2012-4-12_9849_F2.64x64.jpg UK_Lawyer's Avatar

    UK_Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    750
    I am a qualified solicitor and an expert in UK law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    402
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    8199
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice