How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Quiksilver07070 Your Own Question

Quiksilver07070
Quiksilver07070, Consultant
Category: Mac
Satisfied Customers: 736
Experience:  Consultant within every computer and networking category. Troubleshoot and maintain various operating systems. Sales Engineering.
63493917
Type Your Mac Question Here...
Quiksilver07070 is online now

I am using iMovie 10.1.1 and the preview window while editing

Customer Question

hi, i am using iMovie 10.1.1 and the preview window while editing is very jerky making it very difficult to accurately edit. I have tested a clip and it exports fine, just very jerky during edit
Submitted: 8 months ago.
Category: Mac
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
Hello and thank you for choosing JUSTANSWER.com.This jerky motion is caused by the rendering on-the-fly feature.If the machine (iMac) is not using a powerful enough video card, and enough RAM, you will get the jerky motion you see..How to solve this?Upgrade the hardware, and use a better piece of software....iMovie is for novices.....and i suggest a more professional approach using FinalCut.
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Thanks for your answer. I have just upgraded my mac from a very slow old machine to very fast with loads of RAM. I have tested same footage on both machines, it's not jerky on old machine, but is on new one
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
And you were using the exact same version of iMovie on both machines?
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
Also, if you are having a lot of programs OPEN at start up (on the new Mac), then your CPU and RAM are being taxed before iMovie ever gets a chance to use them. Then it doesnt matter how much RAM or CPU power you have, if they are being delegated to other programs..Check your resource's and monitor them, when iMovie is doing the preview, if the CPU spikes, and RAM usage spikes to max......then you may need to trun off other programs that are starting up.
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
All solutions lean on the fact that the iMovie does NOT have enough resources (RAM and CPU) which cause jerky motion during the LIVE preview.
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Hi, thanks for your response. I'm just a bit confused as to why it's ok on my much older, slower machine
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
its hard to say, however....if you have programs that are starting up, and running when you start up the computer.....those programs will consume resources.When you open and run iMovie, the resources that are LEFT are what is available to iMovie.The older machine might not be having so many programs open and run at computer startup.Newer computers will have MORE programs open and start at computer startup than an older machine.Are you able to MONITOR the resources, and see how they spike when you are trying to use the preview in iMovie?
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Ok, I have some urgent emails that need replying so I will have to check on this later, thanks
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
Sure, no problem.Please take a moment to rate my performance.
Expert:  Quiksilver07070 replied 8 months ago.
Any updates on this?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • My Expert answered my question promptly and he resolved the issue totally. This is a great service. I am so glad I found it I will definitely use the service again if needed. One Happy Customer
< Previous | Next >
  • My Expert answered my question promptly and he resolved the issue totally. This is a great service. I am so glad I found it I will definitely use the service again if needed. One Happy Customer
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Mike the Mac Medic

    Mike the Mac Medic

    Mac Support Specialist

    Satisfied Customers:

    5630
    Over 20 years IT experience with Apple computers in publishing, marketing and design.
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/macthelife/2009-10-20_1899_mikesebaharsquare64.jpg Mike the Mac Medic's Avatar

    Mike the Mac Medic

    Mac Support Specialist

    Satisfied Customers:

    5630
    Over 20 years IT experience with Apple computers in publishing, marketing and design.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VI/vinodvmenon2005/1.64x64.jpg Vinod Menon's Avatar

    Vinod Menon

    Mac Support Specialist

    Satisfied Customers:

    1709
    Over 1.5 year experience working as a Tech Support Agent for Apple iPods and iTunes for US customers.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/Claws224/2009-07-07_063935_Dork_Portrait.JPG Claws224's Avatar

    Claws224

    IEEE Datacommunication Engineer

    Satisfied Customers:

    965
    IEEE, Microsoft
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/MA/MacHelpdesk/1d2d506.64x64.jpg David's Avatar

    David

    Mac Specialist

    Satisfied Customers:

    916
    BSc H.Dip Apple Certified Professional
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RI/rickster38/2012-4-2_222958_ComputerMan.64x64.JPG Mac Tech's Avatar

    Mac Tech

    Apple Specialist

    Satisfied Customers:

    884
    7 + Years Supporting Apple Products
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DWCdesignTB/2009-10-27_050610_ProfilePic3.jpg Travis's Avatar

    Travis

    Mac-Trained Product Designer

    Satisfied Customers:

    757
    19+ Years of Mac Experience, BSA in Design and 6 Years of Mac Training from University of Cincinnati
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/RO/robgranholm/2011-1-14_191048_headshot.64x64.jpg robgranholm's Avatar

    robgranholm

    Mac Genius

    Satisfied Customers:

    687
    2 Years at Apple, Current IT Administrator and Small Business Owner. Loves to help.