How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Family Physician Your Own Question

Family Physician
Family Physician, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 12816
Experience:  GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
1304720
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Family Physician is online now

hi i really would like a 2nd opinion, i have been having diffiiculty

Customer Question

hi i really would like a 2nd opinion, i have been having diffiiculty swallowing and slight tightness of the chest when i eat for the last month, my glands have been swollen now for two months in my neck, i had a biopsy on them and it came back as an inflammation. I am type 1 diabetic and have serious health anxiety constantly worried about cancer. i sometimes get food stuck at the top of my throat just to get food to go down. I am so scared i have eosophagus cancer that i refuse to get an endoscopy. Please let me no what my sypmtons sound like.
Submitted: 3 years ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Family Physician replied 3 years ago.
Thank you for your question:

The chance of esophageal cancer at your age is VERY small. This is not a type of cancer that is typically seen in young adults. The median age at diagnosis was 67 years old. Only 0.3% of the cases were diagnosed in individuals under age 34.
http://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/esoph.html

There are conditions MUCH more likely to be causing your symptoms including esophagitis and possibly a narrowing (stricture) of the esophagus.

I would strongly urge you to get an endoscopy since this would most likely identify a cause for your symptoms, it would allow for an opportunity to eliminate the problem (by stretching any narrowing), and relieve your anxiety when it was confirmed that you DO NOT have cancer.


Customer: replied 3 years ago.

I had an endoscopy 12 months ago and it came back 100% clear my local ent specialist think i have reflux as he put some sort of scope and looked around my throat and said he can see some reflux. Does this sound possible

Expert:  Family Physician replied 3 years ago.
Yes - esophageal reflux can indeed cause these types of symptoms.
Customer: replied 3 years ago.

what i meant to ask was that if i had eosopagul cancer now would it not have shown some sort of damage to my eosophagus 12 months ago when i had the endoscopy, i have read on the internet that this type of cancer is caused from previous damage.

Expert:  Family Physician replied 3 years ago.
Yes - a normal endoscopy last year and your age make esophageal cancer nearly impossible from a statistical perspective.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions