How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask DrRussMD Your Own Question

DrRussMD
DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 63990
Experience:  Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
24257177
Type Your Medical Question Here...
DrRussMD is online now

Hi I am looking for a second opinion.. I have a 14 year old

Resolved Question:

Hi I am looking for a second opinion.. I have a 14 year old daughter who has started her period for 17months ago, no problems for the first few months up until 1st dec 2013 where she saw her period but was constantly very heavy for over 2 months took her to see her gp he ran blood tests all came bk normal. They gave her tablets to take (unsure of name) to slow the flow but with no improvement and still heavy I took her back to see gp. (This week she gave my daughter mefenaic acid.)She put my daughter on the microgynon pill last month.This has worked she did eventually stop bleeding. However has she needs to have a seven day break, her period now is much worse where today for example she has had to wear 4 sanitary towels and two underwear to school unfortunately I had received a call from the school to collect her as she was distressed has the heavy blood had soiled through to her trousers. I have contacted gp by phone and was told this is 'normal and unfortunately she's one if the unlucky ladies'. Please can you advise me if this is the correct cause of action, I've run out of options and im very worried incase this heavy bleeding every month will effect my daughters education. Many thanks mrs davies
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 2 years ago.
Hello

I am Doctor Thomas, double board certified doctor in internal medicine and integrative medicine. I will start by asking you a question or by giving you an answer based on your information provided so far. I will be here to follow up with any further questions or concerns you might have.

My opinion is that she need more than a GP.
She needs to see an OB/gyn specialist or an endocrionlogist.
Thyroid function and adrenal function can also affect this situation.
She needs an ultrasound as well to make sure anatomically things are OK.

Use reply to let me know if you have further questions [click reply to expert].
Please do not forget a positive rating [hopefully you will click an excellent; or come back to ask me more as needed].
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

How do I convince my gp to refere her to one of your advice specialists please?

Expert:  DrRussMD replied 2 years ago.
Put the request in writing and ask that it be placed in her chart for future reference.
That usually will get action.

Use reply to let me know if you have further questions [click reply to expert].
Please do not forget a positive rating [hopefully you will click an excellent; or come back to ask me more as needed].
DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 63990
Experience: Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
DrRussMD and 5 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Thanks very much for your help much appreciated

Expert:  DrRussMD replied 2 years ago.
anytime
any questions
please don't forget a positive rating [or I don't get paid]

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.