How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. D. Love Your Own Question

Dr. D. Love
Dr. D. Love, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 17658
Experience:  Family Physician for 10 years; Hospital Medical Director for 10 years.
21597572
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. D. Love is online now

I would like a second opinion to my question. If a man has

Resolved Question:

I would like a second opinion to my question. If a man has a urinary infection and the PSA level is higher than normal. How much higher can the PSA level be with a urinary infection? Is it reasonable to expect pas levels as high as 50? Or is it more likely to be cancer? If it is cancer how advanced would these levels suggest?
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 2 years ago.
Hello from JustAnswer.

The PSA can become elevated with a urinary tract infection, although it is thought that the cases with a greater elevation in PSA is due to a spread of the infection to the prostate. There is no stated upper limit for the PSA during an acute infection, as it is directly related to the severity of the infection. However, I was able to find a study that showed elevations of the PSA into the 70s with a acute infection, both with a kidney infection (pyelonephritis) and fever from presumed prostatitis.

See www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15264238.

Even this study, though, was only of a relatively low number of patients, so could not be used as defining an upper limit of the PSA, so elevation above the 70s can also occur.

Generally speaking, we are not concerned about any elevation in PSA in a man with an acute urinary or prostate infection. The usual approach is to treat the acute infection and monitor the PSA to be certain that it returns to normal, realizing that it will frequently take several months for the PSA to return to normal.

If I can provide any further information, please let me know.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Thank you. I am asking this on behalf of my father. He is a very private person and has never been in hospital. He is 66 years old and now admits that he has known for a long time (years) that there has been something wrong but was too afraid to go.
The doctor conducted a physical examination and said that the prostate was swollen to one side and that he thought it could be cancer.
If this was the case, is it possible to cure or treat and how likely is it to have spread?
My father has been tired for so long but retired and no real explanation for this, he has had the water infection for years but now it has come to a head.
I know without seeing him you are limited to how you respond. The first doctor I spoke to was great but I would like a second opinion.
Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 2 years ago.
First, the swelling on one side could easily be due to infection affecting the prostate, in the same way that tonsils can be swollen more on one side when there is an infection of the tonsils.

If he has other signs of infection, it is most likely that the swelling and elevation in PSA are due to infection and not from cancer. If he had a previous PSA that was normal, that also would support that everything is due to an infection rather than cancer, although it sounds like he may not have been seen previously to have had a prior PSA checked.

If the swelling and PSA does not return to normal with antibiotics, then it would then be a concern that it is from cancer. The likelihood that it is cancer would depend upon the severity of swelling and the extent of PSA elevation at that point. For example, if there continues to be swelling and a PSA of 10, there is about a 40-50% chance that there is cancer that will be detected, depending on other risk factors. However, if the PSA is still 50, then there is about a 70-80% chance that cancer will be detected.

Note that even with a very high elevation of 50 after the infection is treated, 20-30% of men will not have cancer.

The likelihood of successful treatment would depend upon the extent of the cancer when detected, but the prognosis is good for the vast majority of men in whom it is detected while still limited to the prostate.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.
Thank you
Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 2 years ago.
You’re welcome.

If I have answered all your questions, please remember to provide a positive rating.
Dr. D. Love, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 17658
Experience: Family Physician for 10 years; Hospital Medical Director for 10 years.
Dr. D. Love and 5 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions