How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Hasan Your Own Question

Dr. Hasan
Dr. Hasan, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 8549
Experience:  MBBS, FCPS, with experience in all fields of medicine and surgery
28983357
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. Hasan is online now

doctor, just wondering if i could get your opinion on an

Customer Question

Hi doctor, just wondering if i could get your opinion on an issue im having. I feel so so spaced out and just strange. I feel so unwell. Ive been to doctors had tests done on liver, kidneys, thyroid and sugar and fbc. Also went to a&e as feeling so ill had an ecg, blood tests repeated and neuro exam all normal. I dont understand this as i feel so terrible and dont know where to turn. Ive been to my gp 12 times with nothing being found any time.
Submitted: 2 years ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Dr. Hasan :

Hi, Thanks for your question. I'm Dr. Hasan and I'll try to help you.

Dr. Hasan :

Do you feel sort of dizzy?

Dr. Hasan :

Are you on any medicines?

Customer :

Its Like a dizziness but not spinning. The doctor has put me on sertraline

Dr. Hasan :

Like feeling unsteady?

Dr. Hasan :

Your age?

Dr. Hasan :

Gender?

Customer :

Not really. I feel like im not there its really strange and just really spaced out. Its hard to describe

Customer :

Im 27 female

Dr. Hasan :

OK

Dr. Hasan :

Any brain MRI done?

Customer :

No doctor wont do one as says no need

Dr. Hasan :

Any other symp***** *****ke nausea, vomiting etc?

Customer :

Nope nothibg

Dr. Hasan :

For how long you have been on sertraline?

Customer :

About 10 weeks, thats how long ive felt like this. I felt like this before i went on it

Dr. Hasan :

This means that the drug hasn't worked.

Customer :

Yeh i keep asking doctor to change it but they wont.

Dr. Hasan :

Thank you for your input. I am sorry to hear about your problem. I am going to address your primary concern but later you can ask anything you want.

Dr. Hasan :

The feeling which you have described can occur due to heart problem or brain lesion.

Dr. Hasan :

A normal EKG rules out heart problem.

Dr. Hasan :

Your doctor has prescribed sertraline because he is thinking that you have anxiety.

Dr. Hasan :

In my opinion, you should ask him to get MRI brain first and if that comes out to be clear, only then he can think of anxiety and in that case he can change your anti anxiety drug.

Customer :

Yeh Ive had a normal heart test

Dr. Hasan :

I really don't suspect brain lesion in your case but since you have persistent symptoms , it is mandatory to get brain MRI.

Customer :

What is a brain lesion?

Dr. Hasan :

If that is normal, the next step should be change of medicine

Dr. Hasan :

Like any brain atrophy or mass.

Customer :

So like a tumour?

Dr. Hasan :

It is least likely at your age and with the symptoms that you have but to be on safe side, get it done.

Dr. Hasan :

Tumor definitely not likely with your symptoms.

Dr. Hasan :

With tumors, the symptoms are severe and associated with nausea, vomiting, severe headache etc

Customer :

What Other brain things could it be?

Customer :

I dont have any of thosr symptoms

Dr. Hasan :

Yes that is why I don't suspect any tumor in your case.

Dr. Hasan :

There are many things but as per pattern of your symptoms, nothing is likely

Dr. Hasan :

You got my point?

Dr. Hasan :

So to conclude, get brain MRI to be on safe side. If that is clear, ask for a change of medicines.

Customer :

So if brain scan is clear what do you think it is?

Dr. Hasan :

In that case, it is nothing but anxiety and stress

Customer :

Can that cause me to feel this ill?

Dr. Hasan :

But i reassure you that as per symptoms, nothing is serious.

Dr. Hasan :

Yes it can.

Dr. Hasan :

I have seen many patients like this.

Dr. Hasan :

and they respond well to anti anxiety drugs.

Customer :

My everyday life has been ruined i cant dO anything im so scared Of hOw I feeL

Dr. Hasan :

Yes anyone would have felt like you in that case.

Dr. Hasan :

But I reassure you that with proper treatment you can be fine.

Customer :

I feel like im dying

Dr. Hasan :

This is not something you have to live with

Dr. Hasan :

Yes i understand.

Dr. Hasan :

If you feel like this then it is nothing but anxiety.

Customer :

I feel it 24 hours a day with how spaced out i am

Dr. Hasan :

Yes one can feel like this in anxiety

Dr. Hasan :

You need a change in medicine and should see a psychiatrist.

Customer :

Ive never ascociated being spaced out wIth anxiety

Dr. Hasan :

Anxiety is very complex thing. It can present in multiple ways.

Dr. Hasan :

Feeling just spaced out itself is a symptom of anxiety.

Dr. Hasan :

Please just relax and follow my suggestions.

Customer :

Thats the only symptom i have but i just cant get it to go away

Dr. Hasan :

Till you get the right anxiety medicine, you will feel like this.

Dr. Hasan :

But you will be fine after a right medicine start working.

Customer :

The doctor wont change it. Ive asked so many times so i just dont no what to do

Dr. Hasan :

You mean your GP?

Customer :

Yeh my gp. Im alsO seeing a phychiatrist who wont change it either

Dr. Hasan :

Then you must seek second opinion from a psychiatrist.

Dr. Hasan :

I mean from some other psychiatrist.

Customer :

The waiting lists are so long even private i just dont know where to turn

Dr. Hasan :

I am sorry but you have to wait.

Dr. Hasan :

There is no other solution

Dr. Hasan :

I am really sorry about that but you must wait and rest assured that there is nothing serious and nothing will happen to you.

Customer :

Do you think im going to die?

Dr. Hasan :

No not at all.

Dr. Hasan :

Any question please?

Customer :

Im so certaIn im going to die. Do you think the tests would have picked it up if i was?

Dr. Hasan :

Yes the tests should have picked it.

Dr. Hasan :

You have got the necessary tests.

Dr. Hasan :

Do you have any further question about your illness?

Customer :

Im just wOrried I want some reassurance really thats this is nothing serious

Dr. Hasan :

I reassure you with 100 % confidence and give you my words that you don't have nothing serious.

Dr. Hasan :

Your exams and tests and above all your symptoms all are reassuring.

Dr. Hasan :

Are you feeling better now?

Customer :

A little i just find it hard to believe people even my doctors. Thats bad isnt it.

Dr. Hasan :

Yes that's bad but you have to trust the doctors.

Dr. Hasan :

On my part, I assure you that you don't need to worry

Dr. Hasan :

I wish you good luck and that you get well soon. My goal is to provide you with excellent service – if you feel you have received anything less, please reply back as I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me when you are done. You can come back here to ask anything even after you have rated the answer. I will be glad to help you always.

Customer :

thankyou thats all i want to feel better

Dr. Hasan :

My best wishes and prayers are for you :)

Dr. Hasan :

Regards

Dr. Hasan :

Your feedback is requested and will be appreciated.

Dr. Hasan :

Are you with me?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Our chat has ended, but you can still continue to ask me questions here until you are satisfied with your answer. Come back to this page to view our conversation and any other new information.

What happens now?

If you haven’t already done so, please rate your answer above. Or, you can reply to me using the box below.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

How would you suggest i get thru each day without worrying constantly? I dont think of anything else.

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Thank you for your input. I would suggest you to start deep breathing exercises till you go to your psychiatrist again. Deep breathing exercises include taking deep breaths 3 times a day. Each time you must take 10 deep breaths. It really works. All the best again. I would request for a feedback on my answers so far. I wish you good luck and that you get well soon. My goal is to provide you with excellent service – if you feel you have received anything less, please reply back as I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me when you are done. You can come back here to ask anything even after you have rated the answer. I will be glad to help you always. Regards.
Dr. Hasan, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 8549
Experience: MBBS, FCPS, with experience in all fields of medicine and surgery
Dr. Hasan and 3 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Is there anything i can do for this spaciness or for my fear of dying till i can see phychiatrist. If i could just feel a little less ill id be able to manage

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
You must visit emergency room to see a doctor. This is just anxiety but it ultimately needs to be managed. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Ive been to emergency room twice and doctors 12 times. Are you sure this isnt physical?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
I am more than sure that this is not physical.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I dont mean to doubt you but how can you be so sure?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Because I have talked to you for about one hour and from my experience I know this. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

If i was dying would there be other symptoms?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Yes
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Can you die of spaciness and feeling generally unwell and not there?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
NO
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Whats my chances of dying suddenly from this?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
zero percent.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I feel like im not gona get thru night

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Don't worry, you will be fine
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

How would i feel if i was dying?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
You are requested to start a new question for new discussion according to policy. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Its not new though its the same issue

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I cant get an appointment for weeks with another phychiatrist. Is there any further tests i need to have which i havnt had so far?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Brain MRI
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

I asked again today they are refusing saying i dont need one

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
Well we can't force them.
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Do you really think im not dying? Im so sure i cant describe how bad i feel

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

? Please answer ill rerate again on this question

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
I am sorry for the delay. I really don't think that you are going to die. You have nothing that can make you die. I am sure about this and reassure you as well. You said last night that you are going to die but did you? So trust me please. I wish you good luck and that you get well soon. My goal is to provide you with excellent service – if you feel you have received anything less, please reply back as I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me when you are done. You can come back here to ask anything even after you have rated the answer. I will be glad to help you always. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

But i feel so spaced and weird. I cant even describe. If it is physical what could it be?

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
It's not physical. Your feedback is requested and will be appreciated. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Can you tell me exactly how you know and also what symtoms id hace with the spaciness if i was going to die?

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

Once you have answered my last question i will rate

Expert:  Dr. Hasan replied 2 years ago.
I know because being doctor I am trained to accomplish that with the tests done so far, you have nothing physical. In case of physical, tests must have shown something. You must have severe shortness of breath with spaciness in case you were dying. I wish you good luck and that you get well soon. My goal is to provide you with excellent service – if you feel you have received anything less, please reply back as I am happy to address follow-up questions. Kindly rate me when you are done. You can come back here to ask anything even after you have rated the answer. I will be glad to help you always. Regards
Customer: replied 2 years ago.

There must be something i can do to make it better until i see someone. Please help

Customer: replied 2 years ago.

?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions