How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Chip Your Own Question

Dr. Chip
Dr. Chip, Board Certified Physician
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 27509
Experience:  20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
18722459
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. Chip is online now

2nd opinion on hemorriods? please

Resolved Question:

2nd opinion on hemorriods? please
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Hi--what's your question please?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi I think I have hemoroid not sure been to my GP he said it was can I send some images please so you can view it's like a small hard pea size lump
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Sure thing--let me see the photos Kevin
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi
How do i upload via phone?
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
You can either use the paper clip icon on this page or post them on Snapfish, Imageshack, or Photobucket and give me the link
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
https://carousel.dropbox.com/photos/cc/OF0xeh0uMB4T6Mf
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
https://carousel.dropbox.com/photos/cc/R29VlfPiVK4OAoG
2nd images
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Looks exactly like an external hemorrhoid Kevin and nothing that serious
Dr. Chip, Board Certified Physician
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 27509
Experience: 20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
Dr. Chip and 3 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
3rd image
https://carousel.dropbox.com/photos/cc/ARd0ho8sBMnPwxK
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Did u see all three images I doc on hear said it looks like an abses or see a surgeon to rule out a tumour??
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
The lump is hard it won't push back in
My GP gave me lidocaine a d hydrocortisone how long will it take to go away
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Saw them all Kevin--not a tumor and certainly not cancer. Doesn't look like a tumor either. But if it's hurting you a surgeon can take care of it. With the cream it may take a week or so to resolve
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Why did a doc say on heat looks like maybe an abses and need to rule and other things to consider to rule out a tumour
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
I looked at what he said Kevin. All I can say is I totally disagree with what he said
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks for the reassurance thanks can't understand why I was told this
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Well, of course we can only go by photos and a direct exam is always better but I agree with your doc that it's a hemorrhoid problem
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Can I ask what cream would you recommend to shrink it?
Also are external hemorrhoids hard or can be hard this one won't push back in
I have thankyou
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Cortisone cream is best along with a stool softener. It's hard because it's thrombosed--clotted
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
When it's thrombosed and clotted
1 - does it need surgery?
2 Or drained will it settle in its own,
3 what' causes it to be thrombosed etc
I haven't had constipation at all just for about three weeks I've been taking linseed to help reduce my cholesterol two spoonfuls on my breakfast as it's high in fibre I have been going the toilet allot more so not sure if this as caused it so I've stopped taking it
Thanks for answering I will leave you a tip you've been excellent
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.

1) Only if it bothers you

2) It can just be simply incised and the clot removed

3) It's a vein that gets swollen and with pressure thromboses

The linseed is good and it didn't cause this. So long as you don't strain at your stools, all's well

And this is really something that's bothersome but in no way dangerous Kevin

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
So can my general GP in the UK just cut it? Or does it need to be done at the hospital
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Simple office procedure with or without local anesthesia--one quick small cut and push out the clot
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I went see another GP tonight this GP said it possibly looks like a thrombosed hemeroid but not sure he said if it does not go in a week he said he would send me for investigation what would this involved I'm worried now incase it's anal cancer
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
Well if it were something like anal cancer--which I assure you Kevin, it isn't--that would take a biopsy--cutting it out and sending it for pathology. The problem is this may not disappear for some time. Really, though--and I've seen a lot of them--that's just a thrombosed hemorrhoid
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I'm really stressing out about it - God knows why my doctor said he didn't know what it was he just said to me it looks like a thrombosed vein but he said not sure, then said if it does not go in a week il refer you to a specialist - I thought all doctors know what an hemmiroid is and what is not surly??
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.

I really don't know why he's ambivalent about it Kevin. All I can tell you is from my perspective it's nothing but a thrombosed hemorrhoid. If you need to talk more about this with me, you need to open an new page using this link

http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-doctorchip

Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Don't want to open another page can we discuss hear I will leave a good tip
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
No problem. I never asked you--how long have you had this?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
I first noticed it on Friday last Friday- but not sure how long it's been there for, that's when I first noticed it the lump when I was wiping down there
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.
And is it or was it at all tender?
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
It's tender when in touch it yes and when I wipe down there the doctor said tonight don't use anymore cream just stop cream and if it's not gone in a week to go back to him
I have an anusol in and hydrocortisone not sure if to still use this or now
Expert:  Dr. Chip replied 1 year ago.

I have no problem with your continuing the cream but follow you doctor's directions for now. Anal cancer isn't tender--it doesn't cause any pain. Here's one photo of a thrombosed external hemorrhoid and you can see how it looks like what you've got. There really isn't anything more I can say here Kevin but let me know how it goes

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=thrombosed+external+hemorrhoid+picture&qpvt=thrombosed+external+hemorrhoid+picture&qpvt=thrombosed+external+hemorrhoid+picture&FORM=IGRE#view=detail&id=9EE30A9CE1194F36A52CD9738795DD43EB92098E&selectedIndex=1

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions