How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. D. Love Your Own Question

Dr. D. Love
Dr. D. Love, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 17664
Experience:  Family Physician for 10 years; Hospital Medical Director for 10 years.
21597572
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. D. Love is online now

i need a 2nd opinion on my blood test results. i had them done

Resolved Question:

i need a 2nd opinion on my blood test results. i had them done due to unexplained weight gain, fatigue, my monthly periods are almost non existent. my doctor has put me on kelp, estradiol gel and aldactone. I want to make sure this makes sense
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. Robert replied 1 year ago.
Hello,
Dear customer
Welcome to justanswer.com and thank you for your question.
I'm so sorry to hear of your discomfort due to weight fain,fatigue & menstrual periods absence. I will do whatever I can to help answer your questions .First I need a little more information-
What are your test reports?
Are you diagnosed with any condition by your doctor?
Since how long your periods are stopped?
I am waiting for your reply..
Kind Regards,
Dr. Robert
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hello Dr Robert, results are as follows:

initial tests done 6th March 2015: TSH 1.49uIU/mL, FT3 3.9pmol/L, FT4 16.1pmol/L, Anti TG antibody 10 IU/mL, Anti TPO 0.4IU/mL.

s progesterone 2.5 nmol/L, oestradiol 176pmol/L, HBA1C (glycated) 5%, HBA1C (IFCC) 31nmol/mol.

then she sent me for more tests on day 21 of my cycle: 19/03/15

s insulin 4.4IU/mL, s progesterone 49.1 nmol/L, oestradiol 634pmol/L, testosterone 2.1nmol/L, dhea 7.5umol/L, s prolactin 6.1ng/mL, s cortisol 262.7nmol/L

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
Hello. The other expert has opted out.

In these situations, there are several approaches that can be tried.

The intervention that your doctor has suggested that I would usually try first would be the use of Aldactone. Although Aldactone is mostly used as a diuretic, another characteristic is that it will antagonize male hormones. Of the lab tests, the level that is most outside the normal range is the DHEA, which is primarily from the adrenal glands, but also has androgenic (male hormone) activity. While the oestrogen levels are low in the normal range, I would typically try to first use the Aldactone to antagonize androgens before using oestrogen treatment, either with gel or pills.

If I can provide any further information, please let me know.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

thank you for this. are you also ok with the kelp? would you have an opinion as to what is causing the weight gain (20 pounds over the past year) and fatigue? I exercise 3 times a week (brisk walking or jogging for about an hour). I eat healthily as well, no junk food.

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
I would typically try the Aldactone alone first.

It is possible that the androgen effect is causing the weight gain, both because of the effect of androgen on muscle mass and that it can indirectly affect oestrogen levels.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

thank you Dr Love, one last thing, she has prescribed 100mg per day to be taken in the morning. Does this sound right? Also, If I start the aldactone only, when would I start using the estradiol?

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
Yes, that would be a proper dose. I would usually try the Aldactone for 2-3 menstrual cycles to fully assess the effect of the intervention.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

is it ok to carry on with the kelp or must I stop that?

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
Yes, it would be OK to continue the kelp.
Dr. D. Love, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 17664
Experience: Family Physician for 10 years; Hospital Medical Director for 10 years.
Dr. D. Love and 2 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.