How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. D. Love Your Own Question

Dr. D. Love
Dr. D. Love, Doctor
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 17553
Experience:  Family Physician for 10 years; Hospital Medical Director for 10 years.
21597572
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. D. Love is online now

I need an opinion please. Yesterday it was quite

Customer Question

Hello, I need an opinion please. Yesterday it was quite hot and I played some tennis outside for about an hour and a half. I didnt have any water with me. When I got home I had quite a bad headache and instead of drinking water I drank a beer and sat in the sun for some more time. After going indoors I still had a headache so I took my temperature and it was 37.5. Would you class this as a temperature? Do you think the headache was from dehydration and does body temperature increase during exercise?
Also I did not have any symptoms or anything and didnt feel ill, I actually had appettite and was quite hungry at the time also.

Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
Hello from JustAnswer.

No, a temperature of 37.5 would not be considered a fever. There are some people that consider a temperature of 37.5 to be the upper limit of normal, but the usual upper limit is 38.0.

Yes, it is very common to get a headache from dehydration during exercise.

Body temperature can increase during exercise, but it usually does not get into an elevated range. However, a lack of hydration to the point that sweating does not occur is one of the risk factors for getting overheated during exercise.

From your description, it does not sound like you had any serious issue other than some level of dehydration. It certainly does not sound like you had any heat related illness.

In the future, though, it is always wise to hydrate well before and after exercise, particularly when exercising outdoors on a hot day.

If I can provide any further information, please let me know.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Thank you for your response Dr. You actually just made a point which I forgot to mention. I did not actually sweat at all during the exercise. Even though it was strenous. Does this indicate that I was dehydrated and as a result as I did not sweat my body got hotter since sweating during sports is what normally regulates the body tempareture? I ask because I did not have any sypmtoms of feeling ill or a fever other than the headache which reduced after i started drinking water.

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
Yes, if you were not sweating, it is likely that you were dehydrated. However, since the temperature was only 37.5 and you did not develop any symptoms, you did not get overheated or any heat related illness. If you had continued to exercise, you may have reached a point of getting overheated, but you did not get to that point with the amount of exercise that was done.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

What about the headache? Would that be caused by dehydration as well? Normally when I exercise the temperature still remains around 36.5 so what would explain the increase in temperature and the headache?

Expert:  Dr. D. Love replied 1 year ago.
I addressed the headache above.

A temperature of 37.5 is still within the normal range, so is not considered abnormal, regardless of whether you were dehydrated and what temperature you usually run.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions