How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. Thomas, MD Your Own Question

Dr. Thomas, MD
Dr. Thomas, MD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 63757
Experience:  Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
24257177
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. Thomas, MD is online now

Can you give me an opinion please? Its regarding prednisolone.

Customer Question

Can you give me an opinion please?
Its regarding prednisolone. My wife was diagnosed with sarcoidosis over 22 years ago which left scaring on the lungs and has been taking prednisolone ever since at varying doses. the Sarcoidosis is dormant currently but she is now 4 years into the menopause and experiencing extreme mood changes and has been diagnosed with severe depression. She often has bouts of confusion, has problems sleeping, memory loss, both short term and long term, etc. I understand that many of these symptoms are related to both long term prednisolone use and the menopause. I also understand that HRT treatment is not recommended while taking prednisolone although our GP has recently given her information about HRT treatment.
I feel that although the prednisolone was helping the sarcoidosis before the menopause that it is now contributing to a lower quality of life due to the developing menopause symptoms.
I understand that this query is complicated for you to simply answer, but I would appreciate what ever suggestions you may have.
the medication my wife is currently prescribed are listed below:
Predisolone 5mg per day
Seretide 25-125 micrograms inhaler, 2 puffs morning and night.
Ventoline 100 micrograms inhaler, when needed.
Spiriva 18 microgram inhaler, once a day.
Uniphyllin 200mg 1 twice a day.
Risedronate sodium 35mg, once per week.
Adcal-D3 1500mg, 2 per day.
Citalopram 20mg, 1 per day.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  Dr. Thomas, MD replied 1 year ago.
Hello
My suggestion is that she see an endocrinologist.
She needs a whole lot of blood work before any idea of what is going on can be reached.
Including, but not limited to
Adrenal function panel
Sex hormone panel, testosterone and SHBG
Thyroid function panel.
B vitamins, magnesium, vitamin D, calcium.
All routine labs.
Urinalysis.
OK, so that is an initial answer….
Please use reply to expert if you have further questions. When you are ready, please click a positive rating [hopefully excellent]. If you forgot something, come back. I am here daily.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Last | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.