How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask DrRussMD Your Own Question

DrRussMD
DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 64053
Experience:  Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
24257177
Type Your Medical Question Here...
DrRussMD is online now

I would want your expert opinion on whether it is

Customer Question

Hello
I would want your expert opinion on whether it is safe to work in the medical field, for instance working as a Nurse, Occupational Therapist, Physical Therapist or any other job that requires that I interact with patients.
At the moment, I am being treated for Myositis- an auto immune illness. I'm currently taking Prednisolone and Azathioprine and other medications. However I have been told that the Azathiopirine and Prednisolone are immuno suppressants and would make me more vulnerable to catching opportunistic illnesses.
My blood results are okay at the moment, with the White Bloods cells levels within normal range.
So I would want your opinion on whether it is safe to work, say in a hospital environment or any job that has to deal with patients.
I look forward to your response.
Thank you
Daniel
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 1 year ago.
Hello
It is not as safe as one with completely health immunity, but, it is within an acceptable range if you are manged effectively and monitored by your doctors, and if all normal safety precautions in your job are followed effectively.
OK, so that is an initial answer….
Please use reply to expert if you have further questions. When you are ready, please click a positive rating [hopefully excellent]. If you forgot something, come back. I am here daily.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks for that response. Do you know whether there is a blanket ban on all those on immuno suppressants to not work with patients or in the NHS?
And also, as you know, the Cretinine Kinase blood test is used to monitor the state of the Myositis. Mine has been around 300 to 400, slightly above the normal range. However I have noticed that when I work night shifts prior to blood tests being done, the CK levels go up to around 800. And when I don't do night shifts prior to the tests, it appears to be just slightly above the normal levels.
Could one day that lack of proper sleep could be a factor, would you advise doing night shifts in my current condition?
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 1 year ago.
There is no ban that I know of.
There is no known reason that you go up when working night shifts.
In theory, this might be to the circadian stress of working over night.
I would change this if possible.
Lack of sleep can be a factor in any such situation.
please click a positive rating [hopefully excellent]. If you forgot something, come back. I am here daily.
DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 64053
Experience: Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
DrRussMD and other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks for the promt replies doctor. If I may ask, is it advisable to have have children whilst on Azathioprone?
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 1 year ago.
Aza does not reduce semen quality.
It is not a prevention for having children.
This should also be discussed with your doctor.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thanks. One final question. How common is Myositis; in your experience, what's the prognosis of those with inflammatory Myositis? What would be your general advise for someone with inflammatory Myositis?
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 1 year ago.
It is not common
And it depends on what type of myositis you have.
Without knowing that, prognosis can not really be stated.
In fact, it is very individualized regardless.
Yes, I have entire integrative medical approaches to myositis, but not on this thread.
See my add services offer.

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.co.uk/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions