How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Dr. David Your Own Question

Dr. David
Dr. David, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 44331
Experience:  Board Certified Physician
41363181
Type Your Medical Question Here...
Dr. David is online now

I'd like to ask your opinion on a congenital mole. I showed

Customer Question

Hi, I'd like to ask your opinion on a congenital mole. I showed it to my doctor last week and she just advised to keep an eye on it with photos once a month, but she didn't examine it closely. I had never looked at it closed and on photographing it, I think it has darker brown speckles over a lighter brown, which are especially noticeable on one edge. Overall, it is quite light and possibly has faded over the past 30 years or so a bit (which may have caused this speckliness). I would be grateful to hear what you think about this mole (about 6mm or a quarter of an inch in size, hasn't grown in size in years). I have a photo I can upload. My plan currently is to take monthly photos and share with my doc in 3 months or sooner if there is any change.
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Medical
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Photo attached
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
The main thing I am wondering is, is this the appearance of a fading mole, and if so should it fade gradually over many years, and what changes should I look for that would be of concern? I have one other mole on my arm which has faded completely to a lighter shade, and a smaller mole on the other shoulder which developed a slight halo and seems to have gotten smaller over many years, it is also a little gradiated in brown colour at present. My doctor has advised to just keep an eye on all and photograph, she did not see any particular warning signs, I would just like to know if an expert here agrees, or had additional advice/ suggestions.
Expert:  Shantal-Mod replied 1 year ago.
Hello,
I'm Shantal and I'm a moderator for this topic.
I've been working hard to find a Professional to assist you with your question, but sometimes finding the right Professional can take a little longer than expected.
I was checking to see if you had already found your answer or if you still need assistance from one of the Professionals.
Please let me know if you wish to continue waiting or if you would like for us to close your question?
Thank you,
Shantal
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi I'll continue waiting a while longer, thanks.
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.
This is Dr David
a fading mole is fine
the chances for it to turn cancerous if it is fading is very low.
you can show your dermatologist to monitor your moles once a year.
but I bet the mole will continue to be benign.
you can upload a photo of the mole here if you would like
here are instructions
type a word in the textbox and highlight it
then select the "chain" icon above the textbox or the paper clip icon to upload a jpg
this opens a window where you can click next to the text box to select the jpg or pdf file on your computer to upload into JustAnswer
http://ww2.justanswer.com/how-do-i-send-photo-or-file-expert
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Hi thank you for replying. I tried a pic above, (under Photo attached there is a blue link to click, which works from my mac) I will try again here (link below) as on my computer I don't get a link icon when highlighting a word.
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.
yes, I see that photo
with the mole and the ruler.
it looks benign.
I am a cancer doctor.
it doesn't look worrisome
let me know if you have other questions.
if done for now, please leave positive rating above the chat box so I can get credit for helping you today
we only get credit for helping clients after positive feedback
you can always reach me with "a question for Dr. David" in the medicine or oncology categories if you have any other questions
here is my website if you need to reach me again:
http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-dr-david/
Thanks for using JustAnswers.com
Dr. David, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 44331
Experience: Board Certified Physician
Dr. David and 3 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Thank you very much doctor, I will think of you again if in doubt.
Expert:  Dr. David replied 1 year ago.
you are welcome
don't forget to leave positive feedback.
thanks for using JustAnswer.com

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions