How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask DrRussMD Your Own Question

DrRussMD
DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 63983
Experience:  Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
24257177
Type Your Medical Question Here...
DrRussMD is online now

Id value the opinion of a doctor with some additional

Resolved Question:

Hi
Id value the opinion of a doctor with some additional understanding of natural products/supplements
Im a 48 year male, in reasonably good health but do take a statin, beta blocker and high bp medication at low doses which controls my high"ish"blood pressure
I have recently started taking natural supplements and find they do help me feel healthier. I am taking a lot of supplements which I have listed below. They are all herbs, etc but I would value a doctors opinion as to whether you would consider it dangerous to take this many together even though they are all natural and indivisually are all very well regarded ? I have researched each one and they do not interact with my medications other than some also lower blood pressure but am I overdoing it taking so many or can have a got the right idea about this "cocktail" being good for me ?
I take the following:
Black garlic tablets 2000mg
Red krill Oil 1000mg
Astaxanthin 12mg
Cyruta Plus (natural vit c)
Ubliquinol CO10
tumeric powder
A supplement for my heart containing Potassium and Magnesium
1000mg Beetroot extract
And I make a green smoothie everyday containing - spinach, kale, apple and I add
------
2 teaspoons of black cumin oil
2 teaspoons of grapeseed oil
Some natural cinnamon
a few drops of Astragalus
Manuka Honey
Olive Leaf Extract
Sage leaf
----
I also drink a cup of Rio Amz Pau d'Arco Tea and love spice so add chillies to everything
I never exceed the individual dose of any one opf the above supplements and I believe that each one does different things, though a few of them will of course lower blood pressure etc etc
I'd appreciate any opinions
Many Thanks
Mark
Submitted: 8 months ago.
Category: Medical
Expert:  DrRussMD replied 8 months ago.

Hello

I am Doctor Thomas, a double board certified doctor in internal medicine and integrative medicine, with advanced training in several other fields. I am a clinician of over 20 years experience. I will give you an initial answer or ask you a question, but be sure to use reply to expert to communicate with me as needed.

there is no way to predict how these interact with your medicines

However, some statements can be made.

Garlic, krill oil and tumeric all thin the blood. You should not take them daily together.

Alternated days.

Atacanthin is an isolated caratenoid. Not a good idea. Take mixed caratenoids. This is imblanaced the way you are going it.

Nothing particularly interacts with your meds but that is not a tested area, so make sure your doctor knows what you are doing.

There is absolutely NO WAY to say how this many herbs and vitamins will shake out in terms of how it adds to a blood pressure lowering effect...so that needs monitoring.

OK, so you might have more questions or want to give me more information: Please use reply to expert if you have further questions. Also, please click a positive rating [hopefully excellent—that’s how we are paid, per rating]. If you forgot something, just use reply and come back. I am here

http://www.justanswer.com/medical/expert-dr-thomas/

DrRussMD, Board Certified MD
Category: Medical
Satisfied Customers: 63983
Experience: Board certified Internal medicine and Integrative medicine. Many years of experience all areas.
DrRussMD and 2 other Medical Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 8 months ago.
Doc, Brilliant, yes what you say makes sense! Ok, I'll cut out the Atacanthin, and alternate the garlic, krill and tumeric.Though I only take low doses, I'll keep an eye on my BP.
So the honey, oils etc in my daily smoothies shouldnt be an issue?
Just out of interest, do you think what Im doing is a little crazy or do you take any herbs/supplements yourself? Im not asking for an endorsement or advice either way because I understand that I cannot expect that from you, and answer only if you feel comfortable
Thank You for your time Doc
Kind Regards
Mark

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
< Previous | Next >
  • I feel so much better today, and upon further investigation believe that there is a chance that the responses I got saved me FROM a serious, even life threatening situation. I am very grateful to the experts who answered me. Susan O.
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Family Physician

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/FA/FamilyPhysician/2013-8-31_191624_JA550x500Photo.64x64.jpg Family Physician's Avatar

    Family Physician

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    2418
    GP with over 27 years experience including emergency medicine
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DO/DoctorRich/2012-9-12_72454_Doctorweb.64x64.jpg Dr. Natasha's Avatar

    Dr. Natasha

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    7887
    American Board Certified in Emergency Medicine, Ivy League trained
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/DrK99/newpic2.64x64.jpg Dr. K.'s Avatar

    Dr. K.

    Board Certified MD

    Satisfied Customers:

    255
    Board certified with experience in primary care.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/agketch/2008-7-14_184046_drketchresized.jpg Dr. Ketch's Avatar

    Dr. Ketch

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    76
    Medical Degree, Former Assistant Professor at School of Medicine at Yale University
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/JA/JACUSTOMERjtu60wne/2011-2-14_183449_passportphoto2.64x64.jpg docwithheart's Avatar

    docwithheart

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    0
    Board certified pediatrician, with special experience in general pediatrics, hospital pediatrics, and pediatric cardiology
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drappapo/2013-8-16_22576_drdavid.64x64.jpg Dr. David's Avatar

    Dr. David

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    224
    Treat children/young adults, former chief resident, multiple publications
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TA/tazechip/2012-6-7_135230_drpic.64x64.png Dr. Chip's Avatar

    Dr. Chip

    Board Certified Physician

    Satisfied Customers:

    12373
    20 yrs. in practice, includinge surgery, general medicine, addiction medicine and pain.
 
 
 

Related Medical Questions