How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Richard Your Own Question
Richard
Richard, Software Engineer
Category: Microsoft
Satisfied Customers: 37544
Experience:  Over 15 year experience resolving Microsoft Office Issues
32989067
Type Your Microsoft Question Here...
Richard is online now

I can see my data on print preview, but when I ask it to

Resolved Question:

I can see my data on print preview, but when I ask it to print I only get the box outline printed.
Submitted: 30 days ago.
Category: Microsoft
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Hi there Jack and welcome

Can you tell me the make and model of the printer with the issue?

thank you

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Canon MG2950S
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Thank you

Can you please remove the power to the printer (so unplug it from the power socket).

Then wait 10 minutes, connect the power again to the printer, turn it on and tell me please if it is now operating correctly.

Let me know the results please

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Ok, but it prints ok, with M&S word
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Thanks, ***** ***** me know the results of my last instructions.

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
It's unplugged, back in 1p mins.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Thank you

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
I'm using my tablet to converse. Problem is on laptop. I'm 70 years old so nit computer literate.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

No problem at all, let me know the results please

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Ok, power, printer back on.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Thanks, ***** ***** know the results please

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
In Canon preview showing me a blank page and asking do I want to print, I cancelled the print.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

In which program are you trying to print from?

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Excel 2010
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

ok, change the color of the text in a cell to Red

Then try to print, does it then print anything?

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
No, stil, a blank page.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

When did the problem start?

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
The laptop was out of use for several week, on start up we accepted a bunch of updates, the problem has been since then.
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Which version of windows is it running?

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Where will I find that Info?
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Click on this link please and it will tell you

http://whatsmyos.com

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Windows 10 64 bit possiblywindows server 2016
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

ok, I want to do a system restore please.

To do this, close all programs.

Press the windows key (the one to the left of the left ALT key) + R and type in the run box that opens

rstrui

Press enter

Then follow the onscreen steps to choose a system restore and choose a date before this problem occurred.

Let it complete and tell me if it now functions correctly please

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
How long should this take? Still saying, preparing to restore your system?
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

It can take up to 20 minutes or at times longer.

But it will either complete or error so allow it to complete please.

Customer: replied 30 days ago.
Hello again, we have a winner, everything printing OK, now thank you so much for your patience, regards, David
Expert:  Richard replied 30 days ago.

Perfect David!

If you would like any additional information or assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

And please take a second to rate my service by clicking one of the stars at the top of the screen then submit

Thank you

Richard and 2 other Microsoft Specialists are ready to help you