How JustAnswer Works:
  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site. Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.
Ask Richard Your Own Question
Richard
Richard, Software Engineer
Category: Microsoft
Satisfied Customers: 42263
Experience:  Over 15 year experience resolving Microsoft Office Issues
32989067
Type Your Microsoft Question Here...
Richard is online now

I can see my data on print preview, but when I ask it to

This answer was rated:

I can see my data on print preview, but when I ask it to print I only get the box outline printed.

Hi there Jack and welcome

Can you tell me the make and model of the printer with the issue?

thank you

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Canon MG2950S

Thank you

Can you please remove the power to the printer (so unplug it from the power socket).

Then wait 10 minutes, connect the power again to the printer, turn it on and tell me please if it is now operating correctly.

Let me know the results please

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Ok, but it prints ok, with M&S word

Thanks, ***** ***** me know the results of my last instructions.

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
It's unplugged, back in 1p mins.

Thank you

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
I'm using my tablet to converse. Problem is on laptop. I'm 70 years old so nit computer literate.

No problem at all, let me know the results please

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Ok, power, printer back on.

Thanks, ***** ***** know the results please

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
In Canon preview showing me a blank page and asking do I want to print, I cancelled the print.

In which program are you trying to print from?

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Excel 2010

ok, change the color of the text in a cell to Red

Then try to print, does it then print anything?

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
No, stil, a blank page.

When did the problem start?

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
The laptop was out of use for several week, on start up we accepted a bunch of updates, the problem has been since then.

Which version of windows is it running?

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Where will I find that Info?

Click on this link please and it will tell you

http://whatsmyos.com

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Windows 10 64 bit possiblywindows server 2016

ok, I want to do a system restore please.

To do this, close all programs.

Press the windows key (the one to the left of the left ALT key) + R and type in the run box that opens

rstrui

Press enter

Then follow the onscreen steps to choose a system restore and choose a date before this problem occurred.

Let it complete and tell me if it now functions correctly please

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
How long should this take? Still saying, preparing to restore your system?

It can take up to 20 minutes or at times longer.

But it will either complete or error so allow it to complete please.

Customer: replied 6 months ago.
Hello again, we have a winner, everything printing OK, now thank you so much for your patience, regards, David

Perfect David!

If you would like any additional information or assistance, please do not hesitate to let me know.

And please take a second to rate my service by clicking one of the stars at the top of the screen then submit

Thank you

Richard and other Microsoft Specialists are ready to help you