How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask TherapistJen Your Own Question

TherapistJen
TherapistJen, LCSW, CPC
Category: Parenting
Satisfied Customers: 2909
Experience:  Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Certified Professioanl Coach
64783947
Type Your Parenting Question Here...
TherapistJen is online now

My husband and I have different opinion about parenting this

Resolved Question:

my husband and I have different opinion about parenting this because of our different cultures but is this good for our children as we get quite frustrated to go arguing in front of our children?Thank you Jen
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Parenting
Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
Thanks for coming back....while some frustrations in front of children is bound to happen, I do not believe in having full out arguments in front of children. It can cause a lot of stress and worry and could cause them to feel less safe. I would discuss with each other that when disagreements come up that you put that conversation off until a later time when it can just be the two of you without children present.

It takes some willpower to put the conversation off but the goal is for the children to feel safe and free from unnecessary worry.
TherapistJen, LCSW, CPC
Category: Parenting
Satisfied Customers: 2909
Experience: Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Certified Professioanl Coach
TherapistJen and other Parenting Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hello Jen, I did mention today to my good friend about how great experiance I had by talking to you and got to fell better and she is asking me to ask you as she is a single mum since she had her son how can she best balance the space of a father in her son's life ,the boy is now 8 years old and he feels like something is missing in his life,what is it best for him his mum to ensure he is not affected now or when he is growing up .

Thank you very much

Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
While I would prefer that she reach out directly, I will just make some general responses about that subject. As with everything I advocate, I would be open about it with her son...allowing him to verbalize his feelings about that space and not filling in his feelings with her own. If there are mentor programs where he could have a wonderful role model that is a man, that could also help. These would be my first, general thoughts and please let her know she can reach out to me here too.

Hope you are doing well today too.
Jen
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hello and thank you very much for your reply again,yes a lot better thank you for your continues support and giving some support to my good friend,she will ask you one more questions as she is here with me now if that is o.k?

Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
Ok, let me know how I can support further.
Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
Please start a new question for her.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

Hi I am M friend and thank you so much for this,I want to know what causes my sons speach to be a bit repeted and brethless is it psihologic or he is just rushing when he talks

Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
Please start a new questionand write for therapistJen only and it will come to me.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

My son is chewing his nails very much why he dose this please?

Expert:  TherapistJen replied 1 year ago.
Please begin a new question.
Customer: replied 1 year ago.

I feel like giving my son treats will make him happy but his happiness dose't last for long,what else can I do?

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I Couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • professional_Alison

    professional_Alison

    Child Care

    Satisfied Customers:

    71
    Degree in early years,16 years experience in childcare
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/VO/vodkas25/2012-1-29_16528_P1010831.64x64.JPG professional_Alison's Avatar

    professional_Alison

    Child Care

    Satisfied Customers:

    71
    Degree in early years,16 years experience in childcare
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/DR/drshs/2011-5-8_214848_CIMG1275.64x64.jpg Dr. Shirley Schaye's Avatar

    Dr. Shirley Schaye

    Doctor

    Satisfied Customers:

    36
    PhD-Psych; Certif. Psychoanalyst NPAP& NYFS; Memb.APsaA;IPA; Pub.Author; Teach/Supervise Therapy
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/IN/intrapsyc.com/2012-2-20_161928_RGMTPicturex5002012.64x64.png Rafael M.T.Therapist's Avatar

    Rafael M.T.Therapist

    Family Counselor

    Satisfied Customers:

    34
    MHT-MHRS-MS-MA Integral Psychotherapist & Life Coach
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/HU/hungryjack20/IMG_1281_edit_2.64x64.jpg Dr. L's Avatar

    Dr. L

    Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    24
    Licensed as psychologist and marriage and family therapist
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/KaterB1270/2012-5-2_17226_016.64x64.jpg KaterB1270's Avatar

    KaterB1270

    Teacher

    Satisfied Customers:

    17
    BS Family Consumer Sciences Ed. and Masters of Art in Teaching
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kansastherapist/2012-6-13_171911_4upon20120220at14.64x64.jpg KansasTherapist's Avatar

    KansasTherapist

    LSCSW

    Satisfied Customers:

    17
    17 years experience with depression, abuse, and borderline.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/lgephart/2010-07-28_191718_2009-08-08_23001.png Lori Gephart's Avatar

    Lori Gephart

    Licensed Psychologist

    Satisfied Customers:

    13
    20 years of experience as a Psychologist and Parenting Coach. Parent of 2 grown children.
 
 
 

Related Parenting Questions