How JustAnswer Works:

  • Ask an Expert
    Experts are full of valuable knowledge and are ready to help with any question. Credentials confirmed by a Fortune 500 verification firm.
  • Get a Professional Answer
    Via email, text message, or notification as you wait on our site.
    Ask follow up questions if you need to.
  • 100% Satisfaction Guarantee
    Rate the answer you receive.

Ask Ash Your Own Question

Ash
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 10915
Experience:  Solicitor with 5+ years experience
75100385
Type Your Property Law Question Here...
Ash is online now

This is second opinion - I will add images of the

Customer Question

This is for a second opinion - I will add images of the contract:
I have an eight month old pedigree cocker spaniel puppy. I signed a contract when I collected my puppy but to be really honest I didn't read it all properly (I know this is no excuse) I knew she was "kennel club endorsed" meaning I could not register any pups from her however one of the clauses says I cannot breed from herat all and if I do breach this contract the breeder can demand her back! To put this contact in detail it also requires me to walk her for a certain period a day and make provision for her food etc if I'm away for more than 8 hours - it's ridiculous! This was however signed by me (I'm a donut) but this was it witnessed or signed by the breeder is it legally binding as obviously she is owned by me? I do not plan to breed from her until she is at least 18 months old but asked the breeder today if she would lift the endorsement but she is now threatening me
Submitted: 1 year ago.
Category: Property Law
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
Hello my name is ***** ***** I will help you with this.
Just to be clear you signed a document which says you cant breed and I assume you want to?
Alex
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes you are correct. Although I wouldn't plan to breed her until she is at least 18 months old. The breeder is being very threatening since I asked if she would remove the endorsements! To be very honest i know I signed it but I didn't even realise there was a no breed clause, I thought I could breed her and maybe not register the pups at least. I just couldn't imagine it enforceable
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Not that it's necessary but sees a pic lol
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
Actually this could be breach of contract even though you own it. You purchased the puppy and in doing so agreed to a number of conditions. Whether those conditions are enforceable is a different matter.
Regulation 5 of the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999 states:
Unfair Terms
5.—(1) A contractual term which has not been individually negotiated shall be regarded as unfair if, contrary to the requirement of good faith, it causes a significant imbalance in the parties' rights and obligations arising under the contract, to the detriment of the consumer.
(2) A term shall always be regarded as not having been individually negotiated where it has been drafted in advance and the consumer has therefore not been able to influence the substance of the term.
So I agree, in reality I dont think it can be enforced.
Can I clarify anything for you about this today please?
Alex
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Right so in essence in a court of law it may not stand up at all. So if I did this could she demand her back? I love my dog very much and couldn't bear loosing her
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
So do I get proper legal papers drawn up prior to breeding her to get these terms clarified to avoid breaching it as it is?
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
I agree, she cant get anything back and its an unfair term.
Does that help?
Alex
Ash, Solicitor
Category: Property Law
Satisfied Customers: 10915
Experience: Solicitor with 5+ years experience
Ash and 5 other Property Law Specialists are ready to help you
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Yes indeed that is really helpful :) thankyou so how do I combat this in advance of breeding her?
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
You can't pre empt anything sadly.
Alex
Customer: replied 1 year ago.
Possible loophole? The dog on her registration documents is co owned by myself my husband and my young children. But it was only I that signed the contract
Expert:  Ash replied 1 year ago.
You can't stop someone suing you, that's the issue here.
Alex

What Customers are Saying:

 
 
 
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
< Previous | Next >
  • Thank you so much for your help. Your answers were really useful and came back so quickly. Great! Maggie
  • A quick response, a succinct and helpful answer in simple English. I believe I can now confront the counter party with confidence -- worth the 30 bucks! Rick
  • Wonderful service, prompt, efficient, and accurate. Couldn't have asked for more. I cannot thank you enough for your help. Mary C.
  • This expert is wonderful. They truly know what they are talking about, and they actually care about you. They really helped put my nerves at ease. Thank you so much!!!! Alex
  • Thank you for all your help. It is nice to know that this service is here for people like myself, who need answers fast and are not sure who to consult. GP
  • I couldn't be more satisfied! This is the site I will always come to when I need a second opinion. Justin
  • Just let me say that this encounter has been entirely professional and most helpful. I liked that I could ask additional questions and get answered in a very short turn around. Esther
 
 
 

Meet The Experts:

 
 
 
  • Remus2004

    Remus2004

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    2438
    Over 5 years in practice.
< Previous | Next >
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/EM/emus/2015-7-7_192327_bigstockportraitofconfidentfemale.64x64.jpg Remus2004's Avatar

    Remus2004

    Barrister

    Satisfied Customers:

    2438
    Over 5 years in practice.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/TG/TGraham12/2012-7-17_81212_bigstockBusinessHandshake508163.64x64.jpg Thomas's Avatar

    Thomas

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    445
    UK solicitor holding an England and Wales practising Certificate.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/KA/Kasare/kasare.64x64.jpg Kasare's Avatar

    Kasare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    42
    Solicitor, 10 yrs plus experience in civil litigation, employment and family law.
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/OS/osh/2015-7-7_19268_gettyimagesb.64x64.jpg Joshua's Avatar

    Joshua

    Lawyer

    Satisfied Customers:

    4708
    LL.B (Hons), Higher Prof. Dip. Law & Practice
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/AS/Aston Lawyer/2013-10-8_19517_JAPROFILEPICTURE.64x64.jpg Aston Lawyer's Avatar

    Aston Lawyer

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    1869
    LLB(HONS) 20 years of experience in dealing with Conveyancing and Property Law
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CH/chathamchamber/2011-4-24_191833_1.64x64.jpg chatham-chamber's Avatar

    chatham-chamber

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    828
    LL.B, Pg.Dip, LL.M, M.B.A (Pending), Solicitor-Advocate. UK Practising Certificate issued by SRA., DIFC Courts Registered (Dubai)
  • http://ww2.justanswer.com/uploads/CL/clairep80/2013-8-25_191218_dreamstimexs267279822nd.64x64.jpg Clare's Avatar

    Clare

    Solicitor

    Satisfied Customers:

    286
    I have been a solicitor in High Street Practise since 1985 with a wide general experience.
 
 
 

Related Property Law Questions